View Mobile Site
Text Size: Smaller Larger Normal

Governor declares state of emergency in Southwest Wisconsin counties

POSTED July 21, 2017 4:59 p.m.

Gov. Scott Walker declared a state of emergency for six Southwest Wisconsin counties as a result of this week's torrential rains.

The declaration covers Crawford, Grant, Green, Iowa, Lafayette and Richland counties, six of the 17 counties that have been dealing with floods, with additional potential for heavy rains tonight.

Walker directed state agencies to help those affected by the storms and called the Wisconsin National Guard to state active duty, as Adjutant General Donald Dunbar deems necessary, to assist local authorities in the recovery efforts. The state Department of Natural Resources, Department of Administration, Department of Corrections, Department of Health Services, Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection, Wisconsin State Patrol, and Wisconsin Emergency Management have all been assisting with the response.

A flash flood watch is in effect for Lafayette and Iowa counties until Saturday morning and for Grant County until Saturday afternoon. A severe thunderstorm watch is in effect for Grant and Lafayette counties until midnight.

For more on this story, read Southwest Wisconsin Newspapers next week.



Enter a Comment:

You must be logged in to post comments. encourages readers to interact with one another. We will not edit your comments, but we reserve the right to delete any inappropriate responses.

To report offensive or inappropriate comments, contact our editor.

The comments below are from readers of and do not necessarily represent the views of The Newspaper or Morris Multimedia.

No comments have been posted. Log in or Register to post a comment.

Please wait ...