By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
75 from PHS Class of 2012 get scholarships
Placeholder Image

Seventy-five members of the Platteville High School Class of 2012 received scholarships totaling $68,150 at the annual PHS Awards Night in late May.

The Platteville Public Schools report that 118 degrees were conferred to the Class of 2012. The PHS Scholarship fund program made awards to 64 percent of the graduates.

Scholarships from permanent endowments include:

Dr. Emily Farnum Scholarship: Mindy Lin.

Clarence H. Gribble Scholarship: Haley Ames, Madisen Clark,Samantha Hamer, Carrie Hardy, Wendy Laundrie, Gaige Lueder, Paige Olendorf, Sarah Runde.

Robert A. and Marjorie M. Hartshorn Scholarship: Rachel Andrew, Tricia Serres, Allyson Klein, Logan Cooley, Cagla Muslu, Sara Meyers, Robynn Schwarzmann, Jacob Fisher, Firas Jadaan, Dylan Tranel,Parker Wilken,Haley Leffler, Ashley Spease,Ryan Myers, Dusty Jentz, Jonathon Plourde, Rhett Weber.

Educators Endowment — Dean and Sue Isaacson Scholarship: Sara Meyers.

Margaret S. Keizer Charitable Fund Scholarship: David Bast, Breanna Brugger, Shane Ferrari, Jessica Fuschino, Alison Jaacks, Kami Kastner, Christian Melby, Haley Romanek.

Elinore L. Loveland Scholarship: Matt Bailie, Corrina Casper, Caleb Green, Dominic Greenlee, Jessica Hernandez, Jaiden Jenkins, Sam Krueger, Jorge Melendez, Kimberly Dorsey-Notter, Sara Sampson, Rebecca Steck, Jill Wetter.
PHS Scholarship Endowment: Maggie Cramer, Ashlee Ellingsworth, Amy Karsten, Jaxin Mackienruf, Alex Schueter, Dylan Tranel.

Cindy Tang Endowed Scholarship: Rachel Andrew.

Elgie M. Ward Scholarship: Megan Moss.

Gene and Jan Weber Family Scholarship Endowment: Tricia Serres and Garrison Jones Agnes “Tip” Ziegert Scholarship: Cassandra Hirsch and Tisia Muzinga.

Harry C. Ziegert Scholarship: Firas Jadaan and Dylan Tranel.

Through generous contributions to the PHS Scholarship Fund for the class of 2012 the following awards were presented in honor of specified donors:

Anonymous Donor Scholarships: Shana Floerke, Allyson Klein and Cagla Muslu.

Block, Scott & Heenan Scholarship: Monica Nordgren.

Tim and Christine Budden Family Scholarship: John Donovan.

Larry and Shirley Bowden Scholarship: Brittany Hirsch.

Class of 1962 Reunion Scholarship: Erin Gleason.

Culver’s Scholarship: Robynn Schwarzmann.

George and Linda Curry Scholarship: Kendra Feuling.

Barb and Hap Daus Scholarship: Jacob Fisher.

Educators Memorial Scholarship: Heather Obershaw.

Esterline/Avista Control Systems Scholarship: Coda Phillips.

Friends & Family Memorial Scholarship: Katie Lucas.

Kopp McKichan Law Offices Scholarship: Emma Cleveland.

Livingston State Bank Scholarship: Josh DeYoung.

Mound City Bank Scholarship: Tyler Schaefer, Jacob Adams and Deacon Swenson.

Eileen and Tom Nickels Scholarship: Emily Clement.

Parents of the Class of 2009 Scholarship: Kjersten Gronski.

PHS Alumni Memorial Scholarship: Katie Klar.

Platteville Development Group Scholarship: Tess Stecklein and Jesse Heer.

Take 2 Restaurant, Millennium Theater, and Avalon Cinema Scholarship: Robynn Schwarzmann.

Tricor Insurance Scholarship: Logan Cooley.

Gene and Jan Weber Scholarship given in honor of Mac, Dick and Kris McKichan: Alex Iverson.

Woodward Printing/Shopping News Scholarship: Kendra Feuling.

The PHS Scholarship Fund Advisory Board has a number of ongoing initiatives to increase scholarship funding. The group has worked with local businesses, including Kwik Trip, Mound City Bank, the Driftless Market and the State Theatres, to raise dollars through special events and promotions. The board has also worked with PHS alumni and reunion groups to gain scholarship support.

“I have been encouraged by the response of our business community including Mound City Bank, Livingston State Bank, TRICOR Insurance & Financial Services, AVISTA/Esterline and Block, Scott & Heenan LLC as they have made multiyear commitments to fund scholarships,” said Dean Isaacson, former School District of Platteville superintendent.

“Our business community knows that their futures depend on a highly qualified workforce. They also know that the cost of post-secondary education is increasing and that our local students need financial assistance.”

Individuals and families have stepped forward to establish endowments to provide scholarships in perpetuity.

“I have recently worked with Bob and Barry Brodbeck to establish a scholarship endowment to honor their mother, Helen Stoneman Brodbeck,” said board member Gene Weber. “It was my privilege to learn more about the Brodbecks, including Helen’s teaching career, Dick’s service on the Platteville School Board, and [Helen’s father] Erle Stoneman’s work as a college professor. I look forward to the presentation of the inaugural Helen Stoneman Brodbeck Scholarship.”

The PHS Scholarship Fund was founded in 2010 by the Platteville Community Fund.

For information on how to start your family endowment, contact Barb Daus, Donor Services Representative,, 608-778-3344, or Sheila Kelley,, 608-348-2615.

Donations are being accepted for scholarships for the Class of 2013. Send to: PHS Scholarship Fund, P.O. Box 46, Platteville, WI 53818, or give online at