By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Darlington Excellence in Education grants presented
excellence in education grants
Committee members and grant recipients of the Darlington Excellence in Education program are pictured from L-R: front row - Carmen Rielly, (committe member); Jalaine Ruegsegger (pedometers); Tonya Horne (Holy Rosary playground equipment); Michelle Savatski (committe member). Back Row - Michele Crowley (committe chairperson); Tom Donar (Spanish/English Dictionaries); Marcia Aas (DHS LIbrary technology); Scott Zywicki (pedometers); Kori Hemming (American Players Theater performance and APT speaker); Kurt Cohen (committe member); Andrea Staver (4K Technology); Judy Whalen (4th grade Pendarvis fieldtrip). -Photo by Tallitha Reese

    On Wednesday, Dec. 11, representatives of the Darlington Excellence in Education Advisory Board awarded more than $7,000 for 10 projects that aim to enhance educational experiences for Darlington students.
    Holy Rosary School received an award totaling $750 for school playground equipment, which was accepted by Tonya Horne and Families First/New Beginning of Lafayette County received an award of $120 for Music with Movement supplies. No one from Families First/New Beginnings was able to be at the award ceremony to accept the award at that time.
    The remainder of the awards were made to the Darlington Community Schools for the following projects.
    Kori Hemming accepted a $918 award for an American Players Theatre performance for advanced placement English classes and a $600 award for an American Players Theatre literature residency for 60 juniors and advanced placement seniors.
    Jalaine Ruegsegger accepted an $807. 60 award for pedometers for 4th through 8th grade physical education classes.
    Judy Whalen accepted a $443.50 award for a tour of the Pendarvis historical site for 4th grade students.
    Lori Nodorft applied for a $1,000 award for a bullying awareness and prevention program for kindergarten through 8th grade, which was accepted on her behalf, but Nodorft was unable to be there.
    Judy VandenBrook accepted a $998 award for ipads for Dalrington HeadStart and 4K classrooms.
    Marcia Aas accepted a $1200 award for the High School library media center remodeling and technology upgrade.
    Tom Donar accepted a $400 award for Spanish-English dictionaries for Spanish classes at the high school.
    The Darlington Excellence in Education Fund is a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, Inc., a tax-exempt public charity. For further information on the Darlington Excellence in Education Fund, contact Linda Gebhardt, donor services representative, Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, 608-328-4060 or