By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Burk, Browning advance to April
Placeholder Image

The April 5 general election ballot will include a veteran candidate and a new candidate seeking their first term in office.

Katharine Burk, who works for the Southwestern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission, and Darrel Browning, owner of Browning Motors, finished first and second to advance out of the Feb. 16 Common Council at-large primary election. 

Burk received 367 votes and Browning 231 in the race to succeed retiring Ald. Mike Denn.

First-time candidate Jeremy Johnson finished third, with 184 votes, but will be on the ballot in another race. Johnson is one of six candidates for the Platteville School Board.

Burk won in all four aldermanic districts. Browning finished second in three out of four districts, while Johnson finished second in District 3.

Don Francis is the only candidate for the District 1 seat being vacated by Ald. Barb Stockhausen, who chose not to run for re-election.

The winner of each seat will serve a three-year term. 

Iowa County voters chose two Dodgeville attorneys, Margaret “Peg” Koehler and Timothy McKinley, to advance to the April 5 election to replace retiring Iowa County Circuit Judge William Dyke. Koehler finished first, with 1,195 votes, and McKinley second, with 1,086 votes. Iowa County District Attorney Larry Nelson of Mineral Point finished third with 954 votes, and Timothy Angel of Dodgeville finished fourth, with 584 votes.

Nelson and Angel tied 5–5 in Rewey, with Koehler receiving four votes and McKinley receiving two votes. McKinley won in Montfort with six votes, followed by Angel with four, Koehler with three and Nelson with one. Koehler won in Miff-

See ELECTION page 3A υ

lin with 23 votes, followed by Nelson with 19, McKinley with eight and Angel with 4. Nelson won in Eden with 25 votes, followed by McKinley with 17, Angel with 14 and Koehler with seven.

State Supreme Court Justice Rebecca Bradley and state Appeals Court Judge JoAnne Kloppenburg advanced to the April 5 election for the Supreme Court seat held by Justice Patrick Crooks before his death Sept. 21. Gov. Scott Walker appointed Bradley, who had already announced she was running after Crooks announced he was not running for reelection, to fill Crooks’ term on the Supreme Court. Kloppenburg, who lost to Supreme Court Justice David Prosser last April, finished second, edging out Milwaukee County Circuit Judge M. Joseph Donald.

The April 5 ballot will also include other municipal boards, school boards and county boards. The Platteville ballot will also include the Platteville Move to Amend referendum on a proposed constitutional amendment to overturn U.S. Supreme Court decisions removing restrictions on political campaign spending. 

Potosi Village Board incumbents Mick Whitaker, Larry Percival and Sherri Yutzy are unopposed.

The race for three Platteville School Board seats will feature incumbents Brian Miesen, Nancy Bongers and Abulkhair Masoom and three candidates from last year, Johnson, Brian Brown and Curt Timlin. The top three vote-getters will serve three-year terms.

Two incumbents, Craig Bierman and Peggy Udelhoven, and two challengers, Harry Pitzen and Scott C. Warren, will contest three Potosi School board seats. Incumbent Tricia Reuter is not running for reelection.

There will be three Grant County Board races. District 10 Sup. Mark Stead of Platteville is opposed by Joyce Bos, District 8 Sup. Pat Schroeder of Lancaster is opposed by Ronald Coppernoll. District 3 Sup. Robert Scallon of Boscobel is opposed by Boscobel Mayor Steve Wetter.

There will be at least one new face as well, in District 7, where Patricia Reynolds was the only candidate to file for the seat now held by Sup. Vern Lewison, who is retiring from the board.

Three Lafayette County seats will have new representation after April, with two having no candidates on the ballot. Kristine Marion is running for the District 8 seat held by Sup. Paul Garthwaite of Blanchardville, who is not running for reelection. The two districts without candidates are District 6, where Sup. Connie Hull of Darlington is not running, and District 16, where Sup. David Halloran of Benton is not running.

The Iowa County Board has one contested district and three districts with no candidates on the ballot after incumbents chose not to run for reelection. Sup. John Denby of Arena is opposed by Jim Wenzler in District 2. The three supervisors not running for reelection are Sups. Tom DeLain of Dodgeville in District 8, James Griffiths of Dodgeville in District 11, and Greg Clerkin of Barneveld in District 12. 

The spring general election will also include the Wisconsin presidential primary election, which will have more listed candidates than candidates actually running. As of this week former U.S. Sen. and Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont are running for the Democratic nomination. The Republican ballot for now includes Dr. Ben Carson, U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz of Texas, Ohio Gov. John Kasich, U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio of Florida, and developer Donald Trump.

State District IV Court of Appeals Judge Brian Blanchard is unopposed.

This year’s elections are the first under the state’s new law requiring voters provide a form of photo identification at the polls — a state Department of Transportation-issued driver license or photo ID card, a military ID, a U.S. passport, an American Indian tribal ID, a photo ID by a Wisconsin university or technical college, or a certificate of naturalization. Information is available at