By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Platteville council incumbents not running
Placeholder Image

The April 5 election will include two open Platteville Common Council seats and a citywide referendum.

District 1 Ald. Barb Stockhausen and at-large Ald. Mike Denn both announced they will not be running for reelection after one term.

Stockhausen defeated Common Council president Mike Dalecki, and Denn defeated at-large Ald. Steve Becker, in the 2013 election. 

As of Monday afternoon no candidates had filed for either council seat. The winner of each seat will serve a three-year term. The deadline for applying to run for election is Tuesday at 5 p.m.

The citywide referendum is at the behest of Platteville Move to Amend, which seeks a constitutional amendment to overturn U.S. Supreme Court decisions removing restrictions on political campaign spending. The Move to Amend group gathered 821 signatures, more than the 580 signatures required to put the question on the ballot.

The April 5 ballot will include all 17 Grant County Board seats, all 16 Lafayette County Board seats and all 21 Iowa County Board seats. As of Tuesday morning, all but one incumbent, Sup. Vern Lewison of Fennimore, had taken out nomination papers, according to Grant County Clerk Linda Gebhard.

As of Tuesday morning, there are three contested races — District  10 in Platteville, where Sup. Mark Stead is opposed by Joyce Bos; District 8 in the Lancaster area, where Sup. Pat Schroeder is opposed by Ronald Coppernoll; and District 3 in Boscobel, where Sup. Robert Scallon is opposed by Boscobel Mayor Steve Wetter.

The deadline for filing for the Grant County Board is Tuesday at 5 p.m.

Three Platteville School Board seats currently held by Brian Miesen, Nancy Bongers and Abulkhair Masoom are up for election this spring. All three are running for reelection, and no one else so far has returned nomination papers. The deadline to apply to run for the School Board is also Tuesday at 5 p.m.

The spring general election will also include the Wisconsin presidential primary election, which may or may not decide the Democratic and Republican nominees for president, depending on what happens in other states’ primary elections before April 5.

The spring election also will include a race for the state Supreme Court seat held by Justice Patrick Crooks before his death Sept. 21. Gov. Scott Walker appointed Milwaukee County Circuit Judge Rebecca Bradley, who had already announced she was running after Crooks announced he was not running for reelection, to fill Crooks’ term on the Supreme Court. Also running are state Appeals Court Judge JoAnne Kloppenburg, who lost to Supreme Court Justice David Prosser last April, and Milwaukee County Circuit Judge M. Joseph Donald, who also is making his first run for the Supreme Court.

The state District IV Court of Appeals seat held by Judge Brian Blanchard is also up for election in April.

The primary election will be Feb. 16. The elections will be the first under the state’s new law requiring voters provide a form of photo ID at the polls.