By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Primary election day is Tuesday
Placeholder Image

The fall primary election will take place on its earliest ever date, Tuesday, Aug. 14.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. for U.S. Senate and House of Representatives primary elections, as well as state Legislature primaries. The winners of Tuesday’s primaries will advance to the fall general election Nov. 6.

Tuesday’s Republican primary will decide the candidate who will face U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin (D–Madison) for the U.S. Senate seat held by retiring Sen. Herb Kohl (D–Wisconsin) — Eric Hovde of Madison, former U.S. Rep. Mark Neumann of Nashotah, former Gov. Tommy Thompson or Assembly Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald (R–Horicon).

Four Democrats are vying for Baldwin’s Second Congressional District seat — Rep. Kelda Helen Roys (D–Madison), Matt Silverman of Madison, Dennis Hall of Cambridge and Rep. Mark Pocan (D–Madison). The winner will face Republican Chad Lee of Mount Horeb.

Two Darlington Democrats will face Lafayette County District Attorney to replace the retiring Charlotte Doherty, Kate Findley and Duane Jorgenson. The winner will be unopposed Nov. 6.

In the 49th Assembly District, first-term Rep. Travis Tranel (R–Cuba City) will face Dave Kuhle of Hazel Green in the third Republican primary in which they’ve met since 2008. The winner will face Democrat Carol Beals of Platteville.

In the 51st Assembly District Democrats Maureen May-Grimm of Mineral Point and Pat Bomback of Dodgeville face off for the right to face first-term Rep. Howard Marklein (R–Spring Green).

The Nov. 6 election will feature the presidential election and the Third Congressional District race between U.S. Rep. Ron Kind (D–La Crosse) and Republican Ray Boland of Sparta. There are no contested countywide races in Grant, Lafayette and Iowa counties.