By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Achenbach and Roberts earn 4-H Key awards
Steve Johnsrude, Vice President of the Crawford County Farm Bureau, presented Sarah Achenbach, right, and Sawyer Roberts with the Wisconsin 4-H Key Award at the annual C.C.4-H Awards Night on October 8.

Sarah Achenbach, daughter of Lonnie and Jane, Eastman, and Sawyer Roberts, daughter of Danny and Joyce, Eastman have been selected as this year’s Crawford County Wisconsin 4-H Key Award winners.

 The prestigious Key Award, the highest honor a 4-H member can receive, honors a select group of 4-H participants annually. The youth receiving this award are ones who have demonstrated consistent growth in their 4-H involvement, developed and applied their leadership skills, and actively participated in the functions of their club and their community.

 According to Amy Mitchell, 4-H Youth Development agent, this year’s winners exemplify the goals and values of the Wisconsin 4-H Program.  Both recipients have developed great leadership skills through 4-H. 

Achenbach has been active in the Eastman Cloverleaf 4-H club since she was in Kindergarten. Throughout the years she has served club President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Reporter and Historian. Achenbach has been very active in the many educational events 4-H has to offer.  She has participated in the music and drama festival, speaking and demonstration contest, community service, fundraising activities, state fair and county fair.  This past year she was selected to attend the Citizenship Washington Focus conference in Washington, D.C. 

Roberts has been an active member in the Wall Ridge 4-H Club for the past 12 years.  She also has participated in many club and county events, including music and drama festival, speaking and demonstration contest, foods, clothing and cake revue, county and state fair.  Last year Roberts was selected to attend the National Dairy Conference at the World Dairy Expo.  Next summer, she hopes to travel to Australia through the International 4-H Exchange program.    

 Key Award recipients are high school students with at least three years of experience in 4-H and one year as a youth leader.  The Wisconsin Farm Bureau and Rural Mutual Insurance Company sponsor the Wisconsin 4-H Key Award program.  They have sponsored these awards for over 25 years, helping 4-H to honor some of Wisconsin’s finest youth.