By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
SW Shrine Club/QueenB Radio names All-Area Football team
all-area football team
Members of the 2016 Southwestern Wisconsin Shrine Club/QueenB Radio All-Area Football team that attended the awards banquet at Pioneer Lanes on Sunday, Nov. 19 were (from left) Ian Carter (Platteville), Brody Milz (Black Hawk), Evan Gates (Lancaster), Quinten Kreul (Lancaster), Garrett Birkett (Lancaster), Tanner Collins (Potosi), Colin Argue (Pec/Argyle), John Ross Linscheid (Highland), Ben Ertz (River Ridge), (back) Will Simmons (Platteville), Logan Green (Pec/Argyle), Justin Allen (Lancaster), Drew Hennessey (Highland), Josh Weaver (Darlington), Hunter Matye (Shullsburg), Joey Meyer (Shullsburg), Larry Moore (Lancaster) and Jordan Mohlmann (Lancaster).

PLATTEVILLE — The best football players in southwest Wisconsin gathered at Pioneer Lanes Sunday, Nov. 20 as the Southwestern Wisconsin Shrine Club and QueenB Raido announced its 2016 All-Area Football team.

Forty area players from the Southwest Wisconsin Conference, Southwestern Wisconsin Activities League and the Six Rivers Conference earned a spot on the team.

Platteville second-year head coach Kyle Craig was named the All-Area Coach of the Year by the area media selection committee after leading the Hillmen to an 8–3 overall record and a share of the SWC title with a 4–1 mark in league play.

Darlington senior running back Hunter Johnson was named the Offensive Player of the Year after rushing for 2,171 yards and 41 TDs for the 13–1 Division 6 state runner-up Redbirds.

Lancasetr senior linebacker Justin Allen (91 tackles) and Highland senior defensive back John Ross Linscheid (81 tackles, 3 interceptions, 3 forced fumbles) shared Defensive Player of Year honors.

Platteville junior Ian Carter was named the Lineman of the Year.

The rest of the All-Area team is as follows.

2016 SouthwesternWisconsin Shrine Club/QueenB Radio All-Area Football team
Coach of the Year

Kyle Craig        Platteville
Offensive Player of the Year
Hunter Johnson    sr.    Darlington
Co-Defensive Player of the Year
Justin Allen   sr.    Lancaster
John Ross Lincheid    sr.    Highland
Lineman of the Year
Ian Carter    jr.    Platteville
QB –    Elijah Alt, Riverver Valley    sr.
QB –    John Ross Linschied, Highland    sr.
RB –    Colin Argue, Pec/Argyle    sr.
RB –    Luke Fugate, Platteville    sr.
RB –    Evan Gates, Lancaster    jr.
RB –    Hunter Johnson, Darlington    sr.
RB –    Bordy Milz, Black Hawk    jr.
RB –    Kordell Stillmunkes, Cuba City    jr.
WR –    A.J. Hendrickson, Pec/Argyle    sr.
WR –    Hunter Mayte, Shullsburg    sr.
WR –    Trevor Nueroth, Fennimore    jr.
WR –    Alex Traxler, Platteville    sr.
WR –    Ryan Wickman, River Valley    sr.
TE –    Joey Meyer, Shullsburg    sr.
OL –    Preston Blevins, Black Hawk    sr.
OL –    Ian Carter, Platteville    jr.
OL –    Tanner Collins, Potosi    sr.
OL –    Mitch Dammen, Pec/Argyle    sr.
OL –    Ben Ertz, River Ridge    sr.
OL –    Quinten Kreul, Lancaster    sr.
OL –    Larry Moore, Lancaster    sr.
OL –    Logan Muhlstein, Darlington    sr.
OL –    Billy Schluter, River Valley    jr.
OL –    Will Simmons, Platteville    sr.
OL –    Jesse Sturtz, Darlington    sr.
OL –    Josh Weaver, Darlington    sr.
DL –     Ian Carter, Platteville    jr.
DL –    Mitch Dammen, Pec/Argyle    sr.
DL –    Chad Golackson, Darlington    sr.
DL –    Gabe Hudson, Lancaster    jr.
DL –    Josh Lehman, Pec/Argyle    jr.
DL –    Joey Meyer, Shullsburg    sr.
DL –    Jordan Molhman, Lancaster    sr.
DL –    Logan Muhlstein, Darlington    sr.
LB –    Justin Allen, Lancaster    sr.
LB –    Tanner Collins, Potosi    sr.
LB –    Luke Fugate, Platteville    sr.
LB –    Lance Lierman, Shullsburg    sr.
LB –    Brody Milz, Black Hawk    jr.
LB –    Jesse Sturtz, Darlington    sr.
DB –    Garrett Birkett, Lancaster    jr.
DB –    Logan Green, Pec/Argyle    sr.
DB –    Trevor Johnson, Darlington    sr.
DB –    John Ross Linscheid, Highland    sr.
DB –    Hunter Matye, Shullsburg    sr.
DB –    Alex Traxler, Platteville    sr.
Special Teams
K –    Drew Hennessey, Highland    so.
K –    Zach White, Platteville    jr.
P –    A.J. Hendrickson, Pec/Argyle    sr.
RS –    Luke Fugate, Platteville