By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Beavers season-best time leads Hillsboro girls at Platteville
Girls field an incomplete team due to injury
breanna beaver
Hillsboro sophomore Breanna Beaver posted a season-best time of 17:50 to lead the Tigers girls cross-country team Oct. 5 at the 46th annual Dick McKichan Platteville Invitational. - photo by Julie Fronk/Sentry-Enterprise archive photo

PLATTEVILLE — Sophomore Breanna Beaver posted a season-best time of 17:50 to lead the Hillsboro girls’ cross country team at Saturday’s 46th annual Dick McKichan Platteville Invitational.

Beaver placed 18th in the small schools division and 70th overall out of 152 total runners in the girls’ varsity race.
Juniors Michaela Bach (18:02) and Adriana Reese placed (18:04) 21st and 22nd respectively.

Fellow junior Macey Brown also returned to the lineup for the first time since Sept. 10 at Westby, running to a 52nd-place finish in 20:37.

However, sophomore Destiny Shore missed Saturday’s race and Hillsboro had an incomplete team with just four healthy varsity runners.

“I’m very proud of Breanna Beaver for leading the girls’ team and finishing with her best time of the season,” said Hillsboro head coach Ben Leis. “It was her first race ever in the 17s.”

Small schools runner-up Keely Foley (15:41) and third-place Mackenzie Kauffman (15:47) led Boscobel to the girls team title. The Bulldogs edged Darlington 57–60.

Belleville’s Noelle Marie (15:39) was the individual champion of the small schools division. She finished eighth overall.
In Saturday’s boys’ race seniors Logan Rohn (18:03) and Noah Mayberry (18:09) led Hillsboro to an eighth-place finish in the boys’ small schools division.

Rohn placed 17th, while Mayberry finished in 21st place.

Charles Strait (43rd, 19:29), Zach O’Hair (45th, 19:45), Avery Rueckheim (59th, 21:03), Skyler Fisher (62nd, 21:10) and Mitch Parker (71st, 22:51) rounded out the Hillsboro lineup.

Overall winner Tyson Miehe (16:00) led Darlington to the boys’ small schools title. Miehe’s Redbirds outpointed SWAL rival Boscobel 63–81 for the crown.

Leis also mentioned junior Mitch Beckwith’s season-best time of 22:21 in the boys’ JV race.

Hillsboro will next travel to the Riverdale Invitational this Saturday.