By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Platteville's Will Schaefer named SWC Offensive Lineman of the Year
Nine Hillmen earn All-SWC honors
Platteville senior Will Schaefer was named the SWC Offensive Lineman of the Year and earned first-team All-SWC honors on the offensive and defensive lines for the second straight year. - photo by Jason Nihles

Senior Will Schaefer again headlines Platteville’s list of All-Southwest Wisconsin Conference football selections. Schaefer was one of nine Hillmen to be honored in a vote of the league’s coaches that was announced early last week.

He was named first-team All-SWC on both the offensive and defensive lines for a second straight year. This year he was also named the SWC’s Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Schaefer was joined on the first offense by junior running back John Goomey and sophomore tight end Devin Digman. Goomey was also named second-team All-SWC as a linebacker.

Senior quarterback Tyler McClain, junior offensive lineman Adam Bird and senior defensive end Garrett Baxter were second-team selections. Sophomore wide receiver Jesse Martin, junior wide receiver Seth Millsap and senior linebacker Kyle Runde each received honorable mention.

For complete coverage of the Platteville football All-SWC selections see the Nov. 20 issue of The Platteville Journal