By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Platteville Community Fund awards 17 spring grants
PCF grant recipients
Platteville Community Fund spring 2016 grant recipients include of front, from left) Jessie Lee-Jones and Hap Daus of the Platteville Library Foundation, Gary Munson of Urban Agriculture, Amelia Armstrong of the Platteville High School Guitar Course, Nancy Fairchild of Make Music Platteville, Elizabeth Duewer of Habitat for Humanity, ReNah Reuter of Westview Elementarty School (playground expansion), (back) Monica Riege of the Platteville Middle School Bookroom, Frank Steck of the Platteville Community Arboretum, Sheila Kelley of the PHS Scholarship Fund, Jack Luedtke of the Platteville Main Street Program, Nancy Olson of Platteville Public Schools, Dwight Klaassen of the Platteville Chorale, Brandi Kamps of Southwest Opportunities Center, Kayla Leibfried of Wisconsin Badger Camp, Stephanie Saager-Bourett and Diana Bolander of the Mining and Rollo Jamison Museums, and Tom Cabezas of Rountree Gallery.

The Platteville Community Fund presented 17 grants totaling $33,680 at the spring grants breakfast June 2.

Spring 2016 Clarence Gribble Trust grant recipients include:

• The Platteville Main Street Program, $400 in support of Sweet Treats on Main and specifically to bring Mickey and Minnie Mouse to town.

• The Platteville Chorale, $500 to support a regional performance tour by the Children’s Choir.

• Wisconsin Badger Camp, $500 for camperships for camp attendees from the geographic region defined as the Platteville School District.

• The Sustainability Committee of the Platteville Main Street Program, $700 in support of project Urban Agriculture. 

• Platteville Public Schools, a challenge grant of $700 to initiate a Mindfulness and Meditation class for teachers.

• The Mining and Rollo Jamison Museums, $1000 in support of needed improvements to the Collections Area.

• Platteville Community Arboretum, $2,000 for family bicycle racks at the Trailhead of the David P. Canny Rountree Branch Trail.

Two grants were presented from the Robert A. and Marjorie M Hartshorn Trust.

• Make Music Platteville, $1,000 in support of Platteville’s participation in this world wide music event, held annually on the summer solstice (this year, Tuesday).

• Platteville Public Schools — Westview Elementary School, $6,850 to purchase a Rockies Summit Climber for the expanded playground at the expanded Westview School.

Two grants were presented from the Margaret S. Keizer Charitable Fund.

• Platteville High School Vocal Music Department, $1,260 to support the introduction of a Beginning Guitar course.

• Platteville Public Schools, and specifically Platteville Middle School, $1,500 to support essentials associated with the creation of a bookroom for teachers.

The five awards from the Elinore Loveland Trust were made to:

• Habitat for Humanity, $300 for the construction of a handicap-accessible wheelchair ramp.

• The Platteville Main Street Program, $500 in support of the celebration of the 150th anniversary of UW–Platteville at the 2016 summer Music in the Park series.

• Southwest Opportunities Center, $1,030 to assist in upgrading the day services and senior programming areas at the center.

• The City of Platteville Rountree Gallery, $1,440 to acquire and install a picture hanging system for the community room and upstairs lobby of the new library building, providing additional and accessible Gallery display space.

• The Platteville Public Library Foundation, $10,000 to support the development of the children’s/youth area in the new library.

The 17th award of $4,000 ($1,000 from each of the aforementioned trusts) was made to the PHS Scholarship Fund for scholarships for Platteville High School 2017 graduates to attend either UW–Platteville or Southwest Wisconsin Technical College.

Established in 2002, PCF made its first grant in 2005. To date the fund has awarded 210 grants that have invested nearly $420,000 in the Platteville community. PCF requests grant applications twice every year. The deadline for submission of fall grant materials is Sept. 15. Applications are made online through the CFSW website,

PCF is governed by a local volunteer board including Louise Brockman, Nathan Curry, Ed Faherty, Eileen Nickels, Joe Rosemeyer, Mary Rosemeyer, Jen Schweigert, Cindy Tang, Bill Van Deest, Gene Weber, and Jan Weier. Persons assisting the volunteer board for the spring grant review included Ben Reeves and Tom Geyer.

The Platteville Community Fund, a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, welcomes donations from individuals, organizations, businesses and estates. Anyone can make a gift, large or small, and every gift benefits the Platteville community. To learn more about the Platteville Community Fund contact PCF board chair Nathan Curry, 348-2615,, or Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin donor services representative Barb Daus, 778-3344,  Donations are received throughout the year and may be sent to Platteville Community Fund, P.O. Box 46, Platteville, WI 53818.