By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
4-H volunteers recognized
4-H Award Winners

Grant County 4-H is proud to recognize the exceptional work of the over 230 adult volunteers who donate their time to help 4-H members.  The 4-H leaders banquet was held during National 4-H Week, on Wednesday, Oct. 8 at the Youth and Ag Center. Special awards included the 4-H Volunteer of the Year, John Edge Memorial Awards, Emerald Club Award, and the Meritorious Service Awards. 
The Volunteer of the Year Award is annually presented to a leader who has gone above and beyond to help the 4-H program in Grant County.  This year the award was given to Tammy Brogley from the Town and Country Kids 4-H Club in Cuba City.  Tammy has been a 4-H volunteer for 13 years.  She serves as the leader of the Town and Country Kids 4-H club and the 4-H Out of State Exchange.  Tammy’s selfless commitment to the youth earned her the title of 2014 4-H Volunteer of the Year.   
Each year, the John Edge Memorial Awards are presented to two 4-H leaders in their first ten years of leadership.  These awards were designed to acknowledge leaders with dedication similar to the example of John Edge.  This year’s John Edge Memorial Award winners were Denice Patterson from Bloomington and James Hughey from Stitzer.  Denice Patterson has been a 4-H leader for 10 years, helping with the Blakes Prairie Bombers 4-H Club.  She has shown great support for the Grant County 4-H Livestock Judging Team and the overall 4-H program throughout the years.  James Hughey has been a 4-H leader for 10 years, helping with the Stitzer Go-Getters 4-H Club and Shooting Sports project.  James has helped with numerous 4-H events over the years and has gained a great deal of respect from many 4-H members and leaders.     
The Emerald Club honors leaders who have served 25 years or more as a 4-H leader.  This year’s Emerald Club inductee was Tom Jentz from the Blakes Prairie Bombers 4-H Club.  Tom has committed to helping 4-H youth in the sheep project and is a sheep superintendent at the Grant County Fair.  Tom also serves on the Grant County Fair Livestock Auction Committee.  He has a great relationship with 4-H youth and is a great help to the Grant County 4-H program.   
Meritorious Service awards were presented to 4-H supporters who have displayed a true commitment to the youth of Grant County.  The prestigious awards come as a very high honor for long-term supporters of Grant County 4-H.  This year’s award winners were Jake Klas, LuAnna Staskal, Rob and Jeanette Campbell, and Carson Alcorn.  Jake Klas and LuAnna Staskal are with the Fennimore Livestock Exchange.  Jake serves as a swine superintendent at the Grant County Fair and he is Vice Chair of the Livestock Auction Committee.  Both Jake and LuAnna greatly support 4-H livestock projects by purchasing animals at local fairs and they have strong ties with the agricultural community.  While they may not always be in the spotlight, the support they show for 4-H certainly makes a positive difference in the lives of 4-H youth. 
Rob and Jeanette Campbell have been leaders of the Stitzer Go-Getters 4-H Club and served as project leaders for nine different 4-H projects.  Both had served as president of the 4-H Leaders Association and they have been very instrumental in many county 4-H events.  They have chaired several 4-H project committees including cloverbuds, poultry, and dog.  Rob and Jeanette planned home environment day, cloverbud and exploring day, and have clocked countless hours with the Grant County 4-H program.  Their support and dedication is greatly appreciated and admired. 
Carson Alcorn has been an officer of the Grant County Livestock Trust as far back as the minutes go.  He was instrumental in raising money to replace the sale barn at the Grant County Fairgrounds.  He coordinated fundraising efforts and established the Grant County Livestock Trust fund.  Carson annually planned the Grant County Livestock Buyers Banquet and dedicated numerous years of behind the scenes work to helping youth in Grant County.  Carson’s service to the community over the years is greatly valued and has earned him a Meritorious Service award.
Grant County 4-H would like to thank all of the award winners and leaders for their time and dedication to the 4-H program in Grant County.  Special thanks go to Badgerland Financial, Livingston State Bank, Mound City Bank, Wisconsin Bank and Trust, and Premier Cooperative for sponsoring the 4-H Leaders banquet, and to the Happy Hoppers 4-H group members for preparing the meal.