By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
DHS forensics team earns first at competition
DHS forensics
Darlington forensics team from L-R: Front row: Bailey Jones, Courtney Wallin, Jared Meister, Josh Weaver, Dane Siegenthaler, Cole McDonald, Jason Singer, Ben Muhlstein, Gunnar Rielly. Row 2: Paige Schilling, Molly McDaniel, Hannah Kelly, Sadie Fitzsimons, Savannah Bergeson, Thomas Schultz, Megan Wiegel, Hope Francis. Row 3: Gabrielle Steiner, Emma Crist, Erin Wolf, Bailey McDonald, Cora Carpenter, Katie Calvert, Hannah Hauser, Isabel Wedig, Allie Kissel. Row 4: Conner Hackett, Edgar Mendez, Kaitlyn Reichling, Siara Bergeson, Sydney Brandt, Allison Horne, Meghan Weber, Cheyenne Schuetz, Julia Hardt, Shauna Volkening. Row 5: Blake Cwynar, Sam Cohen, Jacob Riechers, Jackson Hemming, Kim Sniff, Dylan Busch, Jaci Moseley, Johanna Meister. Back row: Coaches Kalee Crist, Rayna OBrien, Carmen Rielly, Leona Havens.

The Darlington High School forensics team competed in the SWAL Conference competition on March 9. The team earned top honors with a score of 335 points. Fennimore was second with 276 points, Cuba City was third with 208 points, Southwestern was 4th with 118 points, and Riverdale was 5th with 48 points.

Every Darlington individual placed in the top five of the prospective categories with ninety-five contestants competing. The next competition will be the District 10 contest at UW-Platteville on March 28.

Students from Darlington that took first included: Blake Cwynar – Demonstration, Gabrielle Steiner – Farrago, Paige Schilling – 4 Minute Speech, Hope Francis – Moments in History, Joshua Weaver – Poetry, Siara Bergeson – Prose, Sam Cohen – Radio Speaking, Hannah Hauser – Solo Acting Humorous, Edgar Mendez – Solo Acting Serious and Bailey McDonald – Storytelling.

Group Interpretation: Savannah Bergeson, Johanna Meister, Gunnar Rielly, Thomas Schultz and Megan Wiegel.
Play Acting: Cole McDonald, Ben Muhlstein, Dane Siegenthaler and Jason Singer.

Students earning 2nd place included: Jared Meister – Oratory, Kimberly Sniff – Special Occasion and Isabel Wedig – Storytelling.

Students earning 3rd place included: Erin Wolf – 4 Minute Speech, Julia Hardt – Poetry, Allison Horne – Prose, Jackson Hemming – Radio Speaking and Sadie Fitzsimons – Solo Acting Humorous.

Play Acting: Allie Kissel, Jaci Moseley, Shauna Volkening and Meghan Weber.

Students earning 4th place included: Cora Carpenter – Oratory, Sydney Brandt – Solo Acting Humorous.

Group Interpretation: Dylan Busch, Katie Calvert, Bailey Jones, Molly McDaniel and Courtney Wallin.

Students earning 5th place included: Kaitlyn Reichling – Prose.