By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Candidates selected for Presidential primary
Placeholder Image

Wisconsin’s Presidential Preference Selection Committee Jan. 5 selected three Democrats and 12 Republicans who will appear as candidates on the ballot for the Presidential Preference Vote on April 5.

The committee, which has convened every four years since 1968, met in the State Capitol and approved the candidates from lists submitted by representatives of the two political parties permitted by statute to participate in the presidential primary.

The Committee has the sole discretion to determine those individuals whose candidacies are generally recognized or advocated in the national news media for placement on Wisconsin’s presidential primary ballot.

These candidates will appear on their respective party ballots:

Republican: Jeb Bush, Ben Carson, Chris Christie, Ted Cruz, Carly Fiorina, Jim Gilmore, Mike Huckabee, John Kasich, Rand Paul, Marco Rubio, Rick Santorum, Donald Trump.

Democratic: Hillary Clinton, Martin O’Malley, Bernie Sanders.

To be removed from the ballot, a candidate must file a disclaimer with the Government Accountability Board by Jan. 26. To get on the ballot, an omitted candidate must collect at least 1,000 signatures from each of Wisconsin’s eight congressional districts by Jan. 26. The candidates’ ballot order will be selected at random after the deadline.

State Senate Minority Leader Jennifer Shilling (D-La Crosse) was a member of the committee.