By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Challengers file for council, school board
Placeholder Image

For the second consecutive year, a primary election for the Platteville Common Council seems likely to precede the April 7 general election.

Three candidates are running for the councils at-large seat being vacated by Ald. Dick Bonin.

The candidates are Tom Nall, a member of the citys Plan Commission; Darrel Browning, who ran for the at-large seat won in 2014 by Amy Seeboth-Wilson; and former city employee Angie Donovan. Browning and Seeboth-Wilson won the 2014 primary, with candidate Brian Chapman finishing third.

The other two council incumbents whose terms expire this year are unopposed on the ballot District 3. Ald. Barb Daus, who has been on the council since 2006, and District 4 Ald. Ken Kilian, who has been on the council since 1991.

Meanwhile, two school board incumbents and two challengers are running for the three School Board seats.

School board incumbents Steve Obershaw and Eric Fatzinger and challengers Brian Brown and Jamie Brogley filed to run. School board member Monie Konecny filed notice that she was not running.

The primary election will be Feb. 10. The top three vote-getters in the school board race April 7 will serve.

The April 7 ballot is likely to have a Platteville Public Schools referendum to make renovations in the school districts four buildings. The School Board is scheduled to consider a resolution borrowing funds for the project, and a referendum to authorize borrowing, Monday night.

The final scheduled information session on the proposed building project will be held in the Platteville High School auditorium today at 7 p.m.