By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hillsboro City Council will name Jones successor
Huntley, Banta lose re-election bids
Placeholder Image

The decision on who will replace the late R. Dale Jones as Third Ward representative on Hillsboro’s City Council now rests in the hands of the Council’s remaining members.

Jones, who died March 15 of a heart attack, received 23 votes April 1 in the spring elections. Steve Peterson received 10 write-in votes.

The Council must now appoint someone to fill the vacancy. It will hold a reorganization meeting at 7 p.m. April 15 at City Hall.

All other alderpersons and Mayor Greg Kubarski ran unopposed in their re-election bids. Kubarski received 141 votes. In Ward 1, Mark Lankey received 38 votes; in Ward 2, Michael Clark received 33 votes; and in Ward 4, Elizabeth Parish received 24 votes.

Hillsboro School Board

Incumbent Hillsboro School Board member Denise Huntley was defeated in her re-election bid.

Huntley received 189 votes, behind METCO vice-president Brian Hora, who was the top vote-getter with 246 votes, and incumbent Board member Mike Jirschele, who finished a close second with 241 votes.

Vernon County Board

Elsewhere in Vernon County, two contested County Board races were decided.

In District 15, Cade Cary defeated Tom Johnson, 59-36, for the position vacated by Gary Johnson. Cary represented the district previously for one term.

In District 20, incumbent and former Vernon County Sheriff Geoffrey Banta lost his re-election bid to challenger Adrian Amelse, 134-125.

Banta was serving as Vice Chair and on the Finance, Personnel, Solid Wast Management and Zoning Board of Appeals committees.

Two years ago, Banta defeated Amelse, 107-87.

The Board will need to appoint someone to fill the vacant seat in District 2. No write-in votes were cast for the seat held by Kevin Goebel, who filed non-candidacy papers. No other person in the district, which serves parts of Bergen township and of the village of Stoddard, filed nomination papers.

Two candidates ran unopposed for their first term on the Board: Lorn Goede, District 1, who replaces Robert Starks; and Gail Muller, District 25, who replaces Francis Hynek. Both Starks and Hynek filed papers of non-candidacy.

Incumbent county board supervisors who ran unopposed are: Will Beitlich, District 1; JoAnn Nickelatti, District 3; Ralph Hicks, District 4; Jim Servais, District 5; Mary Bringe, District 7; Herb Cornell, District 8; A. Richard Brose, District 9; Jerry Johnson, District 10; Sherman Erlandson, District 11; Eric Evenstad, District 12; Dennis Brault, District 13; Kevin Larson, District 14; Brian Turben, District 16; Karen Dahl, District 17; Gary Davig, District 18; Jerry Cade, District 19; Frank McCoy, District 21; Frank Easterday, District 22; Ole Yttri, District 23; Glenda Sullivan, District 24; Donald Subera, District 26; John Mitchell, District 27; Brian Richardson, District 28; and Shawn Redington, District 29.