By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Nominations invited for 2015 Crawford County Leadership Awards

Nominations are invited for the Fifth Annual Crawford County Leadership Awards.  Sponsored by the Crawford County Community Fund, the program recognizes individuals, organizations or businesses that have helped make Crawford County a better place to live, work and play.  Anyone may make a nomination; self-nominations are welcome.  The awards will be presented at a reception to be held on Thursday, April 23, 2015.

In commenting on this annual program, Crawford County Community Fund Advisory Board chair Sharon Murphy noted, “The response of our county citizens to the awards program has been very positive.  As we reviewed the award categories, we reflected on the importance of education to building a stronger, more vibrant county.  We also thought about the many talented educators and supporters of education in our region.  We are proud to announce the addition of the ‘Educational Leadership Award.’  We are eager to begin to receive nominations in all six award categories.”

Nominees are being sought in the following categories:

Community Leadership and Service.  Nominees for this award may be an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to the Crawford County area through public service that enhances the economic, cultural or social wellbeing of their community.

Tourism Award.  This award is presented to an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to the enhancement of Crawford County through tourism development and promotion.

Outstanding Youth Leadership.  This award is designed to recognize a young person, age 13 to 22, living in Crawford County, who has shown outstanding leadership on a project or campaign with positive environmental, economic and social impact.

Above and Beyond Award.  As is suggested in the category name, this award recognizes an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated ‘out of the box’ thinking that promotes regionalism, cooperation among communities or organizations, creative strategies or innovative approaches to long-term problems, or diversity awareness.

Business Development Award.  Awardee may be an individual, business or organization that has demonstrated a spirit of community involvement toward the improvement of business and economic development in Crawford County.

Educational Leadership Award.  Designed to recognize an individual including a teacher and/or administrator, business, or organization including specially designed class projects and/or educational initiatives that has demonstrated a commitment to the Crawford County area in support of furthering excellence in education or fostering strong school/community relationships, this award category is ‘new’ in 2015.

Nomination materials are available online at, at the public libraries in Crawford County, and from Crawford County Community Fund advisory board members.  The deadline for receipt of nominations is Friday, March 6, 2015.  Nominations should be printed and mailed to CCCF Leadership Awards, PO Box 13, Seneca WI 54654.  They may also be scanned and emailed to

Past awardees include: Community Leadership and Service – Lorie Floyd, Mary and Don Stirling and the Restorative Justice Program, Ritch Stevenson, Karen Sjoberg, the Eagles Club of Prairie du Chien, the Prairie du Chien Jaycees, and the Wauzeka American Legion & Auxiliary; Tourism – Sherry Quamme, Jerry & Liz Quebe, the Prairie du Chien Area Chamber of Commerce, Tom Nelson, and the Ferryville Tourism Council; Outstanding Youth Leadership – Katelyn Kay Gilman, Sara Achenbach, Mackenzie Knutson, Brandilyn Kochera, and Mattias Dworschack; Above and Beyond – Bob Van Hoesen, Peter  Knapik, the Rotary Club of Prairie du Chien for projects completed by Joe Ruskey, Cheryl Mader and Lara Czajkowski-Higgins, and Bob & Diane Witt; and Business Development – Allison and Jim Showen and the Stump Dodger Campground & Event Center, Mickie Rasch, Ron Leys, and Royal Bank – Gays Mills and its manager Rick Busch.

The Crawford County Community Fund is a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.  For questions and/or further information about the Fund and the Leadership Awards program, contact Sharon Murphy  at 608-624-3409 or or CFSW Donor Services Rep Barb Daus  at or 608-778-3344. You can also learn more online at