By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Haas repeats as SBC champ, leads Tiger girls to team title
Brookwood wins tie-breaker to edge boys for team title
Placeholder Image

ONTARIO — Annie Haas retained her individual conference title while leading the Hillsboro girls to the team championship at the Scenic Bluff Conference cross country meet last Thursday afternoon at Brookwood High School.

The Hillsboro sophomore won her second straight SBC title with a time of 22:18, 35 seconds better than runner-up Catrina Johnson (22:53) of New Lisbon.

Senior Destiny Shore (22:07) and freshman Paige Stull (23:16) finished third and fourth to give the Tigers the edge they needed over host Brookwood.

With three runners finishing ahead of Brookwood’s top runner Jacqueline Santiago (5th, 23:29), Hillsboro held off the Falcons 38–43 to win the girls’ team title.

Haas, who placed 32nd at state a year ago as a freshman, Shore and Stull each earned first-team All-SBC honors.

Senior Amy Salisbury placed 15th at 26:25, sophomore Carly Krajco finished 17th at 26:52 and junior Belinda Griffin was 25th at 28:49.

While the Hillsboro girls enjoyed the spoils of a conference championship season, the Hillsboro boys were left to ponder what could have been.

The Tigers finished in a tie for first-place with host Brookwood 31–31, but lost the conference title on the sixth runner tie-breaker.

In cross country, the top five finishers make up the team score: One point for the first finisher, two points for second, three for third and so on.

Members of incomplete teams, like individual boys’ champion Josh Korn of Cashton, do not count in the team scoring. The lowest score wins.

So despite having their five scoring runners finish before Brookwood’s fifth runner, when the points were tallied the Tigers finished in a tie.

Tie-breakers are determined by the head-to-head finish of the involved team’s sixth runner.

Brookwood’s Miguel Sanchez (20:29) finished 14th overall, just one place ahead of Hillsboro’ sophomore Drew Bisarek (20:48) to give the Falcons the title.

Sophomore Dacoda Wells (19:28) finished second overall just a second behind Cashton’s Korn (19:29).

Junior Zach O’Hair finished sixth at 19:44. Sophomore Jason Griffiths (7th, 19:46) and freshman Dawson Cordner (10th, 20:08) also finished in the top 10 to earn first-team All-SBC honors along with Wells and O’Hair.

Senior Skyler Fisher just missed out on all-conference honors, finishing 11th at 20:20.

Cameron Haas rounded out the Hillsboro lineup with a 19th-place finish at 21:22.

Hillsboro returns to action Saturday at the WIAA Division 3 Arcadia Sectional at the Schultz Family Farm beginning at 10 a.m.