By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Platteville School Board race will trim eight to six
Candidate forum at SWEA tonight
Placeholder Image

The Feb. 17 primary election may set a record for the number of candidates for a spring primary election.

One election will be held in the Platteville school district to reduce the number of School Board candidates from eight to six for the April 7 general election.

There will be at least one new School Board member, since board member Monie Konecny filed a notice of noncandidacy. Incumbents Steve Obershaw and Eric Fatzinger are running for reelection. The six challengers are Jamie Brogley, Brian Brown, Jeremy Johnson, Colleen McCabe, Curt Timlin and Matt Zielinski.

The top three vote-getters April 7 will be elected to the three-year seats.

A School Board candidate forum will be held at South West Educa-tion Association, 960 Washington St., today from 6 to 7:30 p.m.

While there are three candidates for the at-large seat held by retiring Ald. Dick Bonin, the other two Common Council incumbents whose terms expire this year will be unopposed — District 3 Ald. Barb Daus, who has been on the council since 2006, and District 4 Ald. Ken Kilian, who has been on the council since 1991.

The April 7 ballot will also have a $15 million Platteville Public Schools referendum to make $16.6 million in renovations to the school district’s four buildings.

City of Platteville voters will vote in the National Guard Armory, except for District 3 residents, who will vote in the UW–Platteville Markee Student Center.

The Platteville School Board Monday night approved one other election change — allowing the lone Town of Clifton resident who lives in the school district to vote in the Town of Lima Hall.