By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Students get IowaGrant Foundation scholarships
Placeholder Image

Eight students from the Iowa–Grant High School Class of 2013 received scholarships with a total value of $4,750 at the awards ceremony held at the school May 15.

The Iowa–Grant Educational Foundation, a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, was established in 2000 to build an endowment that provides private resources for the support of the Iowa–Grant School District. The foundation’s work includes providing scholarships to graduating seniors and making grants in support of innovative and creative educational programming that are beyond the boundaries of the Iowa–Grant School District budget.

The awarding of the inaugural James E. Schroeder Memorial Endowed Scholarship highlighted the foundation’s presentations. This scholarship endowment was established through the estate of Schroeder, known in the region as the ‘Father of the Madison Farmer’s Market on the Square.’

Dan Aultman, Schroeder’s business partner for 36 years and the current owner of The Summer Kitchen (the business established by Schroeder), said, “After a particularly bad wind storm that destroyed much of the orchard, Jim called the Iowa–Grant Schools to salvage as much of the fruit as was possible. Mitch Munson brought students from school and they worked hard to help with the clean-up. Jim was very impressed by their work ethic and behavior which reinforced his belief that if you know the land and have skills to work the land, you can survive. Jim cared about his local community and about the future of this local community. He also cared about kids and sought to help them develop survival skills for their futures.”

Casey Johannesen, son of Eric and Mary Johannesen of Livingston, is the recipient of this renewable (for up to three additional years) scholarship. Johannesen will attend UW–Madison where he will study genetics.

The Iowa–Grant Educational Foundation was established through a gift of land from Thomas and Mary Jane Limmex. The scholarship in their name was awarded to Rita Reynolds, daughter of Tony and Sue Reynolds of Livingston. Reynolds, the class salutatorian, will attend Carroll University with the intention of majoring in biology/pre-med.

The Cleo Hughes Family established an award in honor of their mother, a teacher in the Iowa–Grant district. The 2013 recipient of the Hughes Family Scholarship is Whitney Klass, daughter of Stacy Mumm of Livingston. Klass will attend Southwest Wisconsin Technical College to study nursing and business.

Martha and Bob Klindt lived in Montfort where Bob had a veterinarian practice. The Martha Klindt Scholarship was presented to Grace Enloe, daughter of Dick & Linda Enloe of Rewey. Enloe has been accepted at Luther College, Decorah, Iowa, and is undecided on her field of study.

Millard “Mick” Gundlach is remembered for his career of 41 years as an agriculture teacher. The Millard Gundlach Agriculture Scholarship is presented to a student who has demonstrated dedication to agriculture through active participation in the high school ag program and FFA.

The 2013 recipient is Tanner Arndt, son of Tom and Tina Arndt of Montfort. Arndt will study agribusiness at UW–Platteville.

The Connie Munson Memorial Scholarship honors the wife of retired Iowa–Grant educator Mitch Munson. Connie and Mitch are Panther alumni. Recipient Lara Daentl, daughter of Robert and Paula Daentl of Edmund, will pursue a degree in agricultural education at UW–Platteville.

Emily Warne, daughter of Randy Warne and Amy Warne, was awarded the Mae E. Austin Memorial Scholarship. Mae Austin was a long-time resident of the Iowa–Grant district. Warne will attend UW–Madison where she will pursue coursework in biology-related fields.

Established by Clayton and Nancy Merwin, the Tanner Merwin Memorial Scholarship honors their son, a member of the Iowa–Grant Class of 2013, who died in a farm accident. The recipient of this award is Jade Allen, son of Rod and Lavon Allen of Livingston, who will attend UW–Platteville with the intent of earning a degree in engineering.

The Iowa–Grant Educational Foundation is a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, Inc., a tax-exempt public charity. For more information or to make a donation to the Fund contact IGEF advisory board chair Connie Gard,, or CFSW Donor Services Representative Barb Daus,, 778-3344. Donations to the fund can be sent to the Iowa–Grant Educational Foundation, P.O. Box 124, Livingston, WI 53554, or can be made online at