By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Huebsch, Klang, Fortney share R&V top honor
Jacob Huebsch

Ithaca’s Jacob Huebsch, Weston’s Mark Klang, and North Crawford’s Hunter Fortney shared Player of the Year honors in the Ridge and Valley Conference, according to the vote of the coaches recently.

Huebsch led the Bulldogs to the Ridge and Valley Conference championship and a runner-up finish in the WIAA State Division 4 Tournament. 

The three also headed All-R&V first team. Fortney became a four-time All-R&V player. Klang was selected for the third straight year, and Huebsch gained recognition for the second consecutive season. 

He was one of eight Ithaca players honored by the coaches. 

Weston topped the first team balloting with five players. Ithaca landed four players on the 18-player first team. Seneca claimed three positions, North Crawford two, Wauzeka-Steuben two, Kickapoo one and DeSoto one. 

The first team includes nine seniors, eight juniors and one sophomore. 

Weston seniors Marcus Schmitt and Jordan Rupp and juniors Klang, Ramsey Arneson and Deven Boland were recognized. Ithaca senior second baseman Aaron Kepler and juniors Huebsch, centerfielder Ross Ghastin and leftfielder Joey Clary earned first team honors. 

Others included North Crawford seniors Nick Gillespie and Fortney, DeSoto senior Zach Wellman, Seneca’s senior Eric Konicheck, junior Brady Ferdette and sophomore Gavin Greene, Kickapoo junior Logan Cauffman, and Wauzeka-Steuben seniors Jeremiah Huber and Jonah Huber. 

Kepler also became a three-year first team member while Huebsch, Clary, Cauffman, and Boland were repeaters from 2014.


Fifteen players earned honorable mention. DeSoto landed five berths, senior Troy Paulsrud, juniors Nick Malin and Jeff Alton and sophomores Pat Gillespie and Ben Rice. Ithaca juniors Caleb Olson, Cody Klossowski and Nolan Clary as well as freshman Ryan Granger were honored. They were joined by North Crawford sophomore Tyler Martin, Weston senior Jon Thompson, La Farge juniors Brandon Jeffers and Ryan Herken and Wauzeka-Steuben seniors, Brady Krachey and Turner Krachey.