By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Tigers football earns 14 All-SBC picks
Tommy Crandall, Hunter Stanek, and Max Stockwell named first-team on both sides of the ball
phillip beyer tyler crandall cody hora
Offensive lineman Phillip Beyer (69) earned second-team recognition, and senior defensive back Cody Hora (47) earned honorable mention. Tyler Crandall (9) earned second-team All-SBC honors as a running back and honorable mention at linebacker. - photo by Nate Beier photo/Sentry-Enterprise archives

Hillsboro’s 2015 football season came to an end two weeks ago with a 28–14 loss to Scenic Bluffs Conference champion and Division 7 Level 4 playoff qualifier Bangor.

The Tigers finished the season 8–3 overall and tied for second place in the SBC with Brookwood at 4–2.

Last week, the Scenic Bluffs Conference announced its all-conference football team, officially capping Hillsboro’s season.

Seniors Tommy Crandall,  Max Stockwell and Hunter Stanek were each named first-team All-SBC on both offense and defense.

The Tiger trio was among nine Hillsboro players that together earned 14 all-conference selections.

Senior Joe Helgerson was a repeat first-team selection as a defensive back. He also earned second-team honors at quarterback.

Fellow senior Tyler Crandall earned second-team All-SBC honors as a running back and honorable mention at linebacker.

Senior offensive lineman Phillip Beyer received second-team recognition, as did senior defensive back Ethan Thorsen.

Senior Jacob Benish received honorable mention for his play on the offensive line.

Senior defensive back Cody Hora also received honorable mention.

Tommy Crandall earned first-team accolades on offense as a running back and on defense as an inside linebacker after leading the Tigers in both rushing and tackles for the second straight year.

He gained 1,396 yards and scored a team-high 16 touchdowns on 146 carries. Crandall also caught five passes for 40 yards. On defense, he recorded a team-high 66 total tackles, including 11 tackles for loss in 11 games.

Stockwell earned first-team honors as a tight end and a defensive end. Offensively, he caught a team-high 10 passes for 140 yards and two TDs. Hillsboro did not officially attempt a pass until the third week of the season. Defensively, Stockwell was in on 34 total tackles, including 10 tackles for loss.

Stanek was the main cog in Hillsboro’s offensive line from his right guard position. He helped the Tigers average 278.3 yards rushing and 27.4 points per game. Defensively, Stanek was the defensive end opposite Stockwell. He finished second on the team with 50 total tackles, including nine tackles for loss and three sacks.

Helgerson earned first-team defensive honors for the second year in a row after leading the Tigers with three interceptions and recording 20 total tackles.

Offensively, Helgerson finished third on the team with 368 yards rushing and seven TDs. He also completed 30 of 59 passes for 315 yards, two TDs and three interceptions.

Tyler Crandall finished the year as Hillsboro’s second leading rusher and third-leading tackler.

In 10 games, he rushed for 767 yards and 10 TDs on 767 carries. He also caught four passes for 35 yards. Defensively, Crandall made 47 total tackles, including nine tackles for loss.

Beyer finished the year with 39 total tackles. He also started at center for nine games and also played left guard in two others.

Benish was the Tigers’ starting left tackle. He was also Hillsboro’s representative on the All-Sportsmanship team.

Thorsen earned second-team honors after sharing team-high honors with three interceptions and recording 43 total tackles.

Hora also intercepted co-team-high three passes and finished the year with 23 tackles.

Bangor senior running back/linebacker Andrew Piske was named the SBC Player of the Year. Bangor’s Rick Muellenberg was named the Coach of the Year for a second straight season.

The Cardinals, ranked third in Division 7, are currently 12–0. They will face number two Burlington Catholic Central (12–0) this Friday at 7 p.m. in De Forest.

Necedah senior Ryan Fuller was named the SBC Lineman of the Year.