By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Two proceed in mayoral election
Placeholder Image

DARLINGTON—The two candidates advancing to the April 3 ballot for mayor of Darlington are David Breunig (i) and Larry Burns.
Of the 362 voters in the primary election on Feb. 21 at the Darlington Municipal Building, 133 voted for Breunig, 128 for Burns and 95 for John Sonsalla. There were also four write-in, one undervote and one overvote cast.
Incumbent David Breunig has held the position since 2002. Larry Burns is a former Darlington mayor and also served on the Lafayette County Board of Supervisors. John Sonsalla has been on the Darlington City Council for four years.
Sonsalla will be on the April 3 ballot for his aldermanic district 3 seat.
This was the first election where voters were required to show a photo identification before casting their vote.