By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
17th Senate District recount under way
Ballots reported missing in Monroe
Placeholder Image

The state Government Accountability Board reported Aug. 20 that Ernie Wittwer of Hillpoint won the 17th Senate District Democratic primary by seven votes — 3,847–3,840 — over Pat Bomhack of Spring Green.

That margin was close enough for Bomhack to request a recount, which the Government Accountability Board ordered to begin Monday.

Bomhack gained two votes and Wittwer none in the Grant County recount, giving Bomhack 1,003 votes to Wittwer's 647. Bomhack gained one vote and Wittwer none in the Iowa County recount, giving Wittwer 567 votes to Bomhack's 468. Wittwer gained one vote and Bomhack none in the Lafayette County recount, giving Bomhack 321 votes to Wittwer's 292.

The Monroe Times reported Wednesday that 108 Monroe ballots have gone missing between the official canvass last week and the beginning of the recount.

Wittwer originally was reported as winning the Aug. 12 primary by two votes. Counting absentee ballots, followed by canvasses of the municipalities in the 17th Senate District, gave Wittwer an additional 19 votes and Bomhack another 14 votes.

Wittwer can thank Grant County for the added margin, even though Bomhack won in Grant County. After the Grant County canvass, Wittwer’s overall lead grew by eight votes. Bomhack won in Grant County 1,001–647.

Bomhack, who lost the 2012 51st Assembly District Democratic primary, won in Lafayette County, 321–291, while Wittwer won in Iowa County, 567–468. Bomhack gained two votes in Lafayette County, while neither vote total changed in Iowa County.

Wittwer or Bomhack will face state Rep. Howard Marklein (R–Spring Green) in the general election Nov. 4.