By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
FEMA declaration approved for county
Placeholder Image

    LAFAYETTE COUNTY - Theresa Burgess, Lafayette County Emergency Director, announced that Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has declared Lafayette County and ten other counties as major disaster areas for a flooding event that happened in the county July 19 - 23, 2017. These counties are eligible for federal funds provided under the Stafford Act for Hazard Mitigation. FEMA provides no less than 75% reimbursement of eligible documented costs, the State of Wisconsin provides up to 12.5% of eligible documented costs, and the local government, provide the remaining match (usually 12.5%).
    Burgess stated, “We are now in the process of completing the process to close out that public assistance. Applications are due to FEMA by November 6, 2017.”
    According to FEMA, President Donald J. Trump approved a major disaster declaration for Wisconsin. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of Wisconsin to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by flooding from July 19 to July 23, 2017.
    Federal funding is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding, landslides, and mudslides in Buffalo, Crawford, Grant, Iowa, Jackson, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Richland, Trempealeau, and Vernon counties.
    Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.
    Janet M. Odeshoo, has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Odeshoo said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of damage assessments.
    What follows is the preliminary damage assessment summery for Lafayette County:

County Highway - $73,514
Sheriffs Department - $7,113
Lafayette County Fairgrounds - $17,309
Argyle, Town of  - $ 4,130
Belmont, Town of- $12,977
Benton, Town of  - $49,997
Darlington, Town of  - $3,500
Fayette Town of  - $12,350
Kendall, Town of  - $10,164
Lamont, Town of  - $5,310
Monticello, Town of  - $6,800
New Diggins Town of  - $69,762
Wayne, Town of   - $12,530
White Oak Springs, Town of   - $7,269 
Willow Springs, Town of  - $4,212
Darlington, City of  - $35,446
Shulsburg, City of  - $12,583
Benton, Village of  - $5,126
Blanchardville, Village of  - $18,924
Gratiot, Village of  - $20,500
TOTAL (22 jurisdictions):  - $389,516
Initial State Estimate: $1,225;000