By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hillsboro spring election lacks drama
Three vie for two School Board seats in lone contest
Placeholder Image

This year’s local election lacks an abundance of drama, with very few races that include more than one racer. The polls at City Hall will be open on Election Day, April 1, from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In addition to the unopposed contests, voters in the Third Ward aldermanic contest have the unusual choice of voting for incumbent R. Dale Jones, who recently passed away but is still listed on the already printed ballots, or entering a write-in vote.

If a majority of Third Ward voters choose to pay a tribute to R. Dale, rather than writing in another name, the post will be declared vacant and the City Council will appoint a new member to replace him. Of course, if a write-in candidate tops the ballot, he or she will be declared the winner.

The other aldermanic positions of Mark Lankey (First Ward), Mike Clark (Second Ward), and Elizabeth Parish (Fourth Ward) are unopposed on the ballot.

This year’s School Board election features the only actual competition. Incumbent Board members Denise Huntley and Mike Jirschele are facing competition from Brian Hora. All three are alumni of the Hillsboro School District.

The top two vote winners out of the three candidates will fill two open seats on the School Board.

In other elections, two judicial positions on the Court of Appeals and Municipal Court are unopposed, as is a County Supervisor post.

City Clerk Sheila Schraufnagel told the Sentry-Enterprise in a recent interview that the use of voting machines is rapidly gaining in popularity with the voters. “There still are paper ballots available,” she reported, “but a large majority of voters prefer the machines, especially the younger folks who are so used to working with modern high tech equipment.”

She also paid tribute to the Election Inspectors (poll workers), who have been so helpful over the years.

The Chief Inspectors are Doris Sweeney, Shirley Richardson, and Dory Stahlkopf, who helps with the registration of voters.

Other Election Inspectors are Shirley Ennis, Evelyn Unbehaun, Betty Havlik, and Janet Webb, who replaces retiring Evelyn Erlandson.

“Evelyn had been an election worker since before I became City Clerk,” Schraufnagel added.