By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Presidential primary, local elections Tuesday
Placeholder Image

Tuesday’s election features several general elections, two primary elections, and one referendum in several communities.

The Democratic and Republican presidential primary ballots will have more names on them than candidates with active campaigns.

As of this week former U.S. Sen. and Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and U.S. Sen. Bernie Sanders of Vermont are running for the Democratic nomination, and U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz of Texas, Ohio Gov. John Kasich, and developer Donald Trump are running for the Republican nomination. The GOP ballot will also include, though they suspended their campaigns, U.S. Sen. Marco Rubio of Florida, Dr. Ben Carson, U.S. Sen. Rand Paul of Kentucky, former Arkansas Gov. Mike Huckabee, former Virginia Gov. Jim Gilmore, New Jersey Gov. Chris Christie, former U.S. Sen. Rick Santorum of Pennsylvania, former Hewlett–Packard CEO Carly Fiorina, and former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush.

The ballot also includes municipal, school board and county board races.

Katharine Burk, who works for the Southwestern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission, and Darrel Browning, owner of Browning Motors, are running for the Platteville Common Council at-large seat (see page 1) to succeed retiring Ald. Mike Denn.

Don Francis, the UW–Platteville summer camps service coordinator, is the only candidate for the District 1 seat being vacated by Ald. Barb Stockhausen, who chose not to run for re-election.

The winner of each seat will serve a three-year term. 

Potosi Village Board incumbents Mick Whitaker, Larry Percival and Sherri Yutzy are unopposed.

The race for three Platteville School Board seats (see page 3A) features incumbents Brian Miesen, Nancy Bongers and Abulkhair Masoom and three candidates from last year, Jeremy Johnson, Brian Brown and Curt Timlin. The top three vote-getters will serve three-year terms.

Two incumbents, Craig Bierman and Peggy Udelhoven, and two challengers, Harry Pitzen and Scott C. Warren, will contest three Potosi School board seats. Incumbent Tricia Reuter is not running for reelection.

Voters will have choices in three Grant County Board races — District 10, where Sup. Mark Stead of Platteville is opposed by Joyce Bos (see page 8A), District 8, where Sup. Pat Schroeder of Lancaster is opposed by Ronald Coppernoll (see page 6A), and District 3, where Sup. Robert Scallon of Boscobel is opposed by Boscobel Mayor Steve Wetter.

There will be at least one new face as well, in District 7, where Patricia Reynolds was the only candidate to file for the seat now held by Sup. Vern Lewison, who is retiring from the board.

Three Lafayette County seats will have new representation after April, with two having no candidates on the ballot. Kristine Marion is running for the District 8 seat held by Sup. Paul Garthwaite of Blanchardville, who is not running for reelection. The two districts without candidates are District 6, where Sup. Connie Hull of Darlington is not running, and District 16, where Sup. David Halloran of Benton is not running.

The Iowa County Board has one contested district — District 2, where Sup. John Denby of Arena is opposed by Jim Wenzler — and three districts with no candidates on the ballot after incumbents chose not to run for reelection — Sups. Tom DeLain of Dodgeville in District 8, James Griffiths of Dodgeville in District 11, and Greg Clerkin of Barneveld in District 12. 

State Supreme Court Justice Rebecca Bradley and state Appeals Court Judge JoAnne Kloppenburg are running for the Supreme Court seat (see page 11B) held by Justice Patrick Crooks before his death Sept. 21. Gov. Scott Walker appointed Bradley, who had already announced she was running after Crooks announced he was not running for reelection, to fill Crooks’ term on the Supreme Court. Kloppenburg lost to Supreme Court Justice David Prosser last April.

Iowa County voters will choose one of two Dodgeville attorneys, Margaret “Peg” Koehler or Timothy McKinley, to replace late Iowa County Circuit Judge William Dyke. 

The Platteville and Belmont ballots will also include the Move to Amend referendum on a proposed constitutional amendment to overturn U.S. Supreme Court decisions removing restrictions on political campaign spending (see page 2A).

This year’s elections are the first under the state’s new law requiring voters provide a form of photo identification at the polls — a state Department of Transportation-issued driver license or photo ID card, a military ID, a U.S. passport, an American Indian tribal ID, a photo ID by a Wisconsin university or technical college, or a certificate of naturalization. Information is available at