By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Steiner wont run for Council reelection
Council at-large seat will have three candidates for election
Placeholder Image

There will be at least one new member of the Platteville Common Council and at least one new member of the Platteville School Board after the April 1 elections.

At-large Ald. Patrice Steiner filed her notice of noncandidacy. Three candidates — Brian E. Chapman, Amy Seeboth and Darrel Browning — returned nomination papers as of Tuesday morning.

The three candidates for Steiner’s seat means the city will hold a primary election Feb. 20 to reduce the number of candidates by one for the three-year position.

The other Common Council seat up for election is the District 2 seat held by Common Council President Eileen Nickels. She was the only District 2 candidate who filed nomination papers.

Platteville School Board members Heather Connolly and Josh Grabandt have filed for reelection, but incumbent Tim Murphy filed a notice of noncandidacy. The third candidate on the ballot will be Arlene Siss, a former School Board member who was defeated in the 2012 election.

In addition to municipal and school board elections, the April 1 ballot will also include all seats on the Grant, Lafayette and Iowa county boards. All 17 Grant County supervisors have taken out papers to file for reelection. Southern Grant County supervisors include Sups. Patrick Schroeder (District 8, Lima and Clifton Ward 2), Mark Stead (District 10, Platteville wards 1 and 2 and Town of Platteville Ward 1), Dale Hood (District 11, Platteville wards 3 and 4 and Town of Platteville Ward 2), Dwight Nelson (District 12, Platteville wards 1 and 2), Carol Beals (District 13, Platteville wards 7 and 8), Lester Jantzen (District 14, Town and Village of Potosi, Tennyson, Harrison and Ellenboro), John Beinborn (District 15, Town of Platteville Ward 3, Smelser Ward 1, Paris Ward 1), Donald Splinter (District 16, Smelser Ward 2) and Vincent Loeffelholz (District 17, Dickeyville wards 1 and 2 and Paris Ward 2).

Lafayette County Board seats up for election include the seats currently held by Sups. Patrick Shea (District 1, Town of Belmont), Bill Moody (District 2, Village and Town of Belmont) and Jack Sauer (District 3, towns of Kendall and Seymour). Iowa County Board seats up for election include the seats currently held by Sups. Carol Anderson (District 19, towns of Eden and Mifflin and the villages of Cobb and Montfort) and Bob Bunker (District 21, Mifflin, Livingston and Rewey).