By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Tiger trio earns SBC honors
Levy is a first team selection, Shore receives honorable mention
destiny shore
Hillsboro sophomore guard Destiny Shore received honorable mention for the 2013-14 girls' basketball season from the Scenic Bluffs Conference (SBC). - photo by Nate Beier photo/Sentry-Enterprise archives

 A trio of  Hillsboro Tigers were honored when the Scenic Bluffs Conference recently announced its postseason honors for the 2013–14 girls’ basketball season.

Senior Sami Levy was named to the 10-player first team, while sophomore Destiny Shore was one of nine players that received honorable mention.

Senior Harli Mitchell was named to the eight-player All-Sportsmanship Team.

Levy, a 6–0 forward, started all 26 games and averaged 13.1 points and 6.5 rebounds, both team highs. She also had 21 assists and 21 steals. Levy shot 41.5 percent (136 of 328) from the field and 58.5 percent (69 of 118) from the free throw line.

Levy earned honorable mention SBC honors a year ago after averaging 8.6 points and 7.9 rebounds per game.

Shore, a 5-foot-3 guard, averaged 7.2 points, 3.1 rebounds, 1.9 assists and a team-high 1.3 steals  per game in 26 contests. She shot 26.3 percent (53 of 201) from the field, made a team-high 22 of 78 (28.2 percent) from behind the arc and 57.2 percent (59 of 103) from the free throw line.

Mitchell, a 5–7 guard, averaged 2.6 points, 2.6 rebounds, and 0.4 assists per game.

Hillsboro finished the season 21–5 overall and tied for second place in the SBC at 10–4 under coach Ron Benish.

The Tigers advanced to the WIAA Division 5 sectional semifinals before losing a 43–39 decision to Gilmanton.

Bangor junior Megan Horstman was named the SBC Player of the Year after leading the Cardinals to a 15–9, 10–4 record.

The 5–7 guard/forward averaged conference-best 15.6 points, 6.9 rebounds, 3.2 steals and 2.7 assists per game.

Horstman was joined on the first team by teammate Bethany Martin, as well as four members of the SBC champion Brookwood Falcons; seniors Olivia Hansen and Leticya Madrigal, junior Amber Brueggen and sophomore Briana Nelson.

Brookwood went 19–4 overall on the season and won the league with a 13–1 record.