By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election is Tuesday
Polls open statewide 7 a.m.8 p.m.
Placeholder Image

The state general election is Tuesday, with polls open statewide from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The state constitutional offices, 17 state Senate seats, all 99 Assembly seats, all Congressional seats and countywide partisan offices will be decided Tuesday.

Statewide races: Republican Gov. Scott Walker is opposed by Democrat Mary Burke, Libertarian Robert Burke, and Dennis Fehr of Chippewa Falls on the People’s Party ballot.

Also on the gubernatorial ballot are Republican Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch, Sen. John Lehman (D–Racine), and Libertarian Joseph Brost of New Richmond. Voters vote for a governor–lieutenant governor combination.

The race to succeed retiring Republican Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen includes Republican Waukesha County District Attorney Brad Schimel, Democratic Jefferson County District Attorney Susan Happ, and Libertarian Thomas Nelson Sr. of Madison.

The race to succeed retiring Republican state treasurer Kurt Schuller includes Republican Matt Adamczyk of Wauwatosa, Democrat David Sartori of Cudahy, Green Party candidate Ron Hardy of Oshkosh, Libertarian Jerry Shidell of Rhinelander, and Constitution Party candidate Andrew Zuehlke of Ripon.

Democratic Secretary of State Douglas La Follette is opposed by Republican Julian Bradley of La Crosse, Libertarian Andy Craig of Milwaukee, and Constitution Party candidate Jerry Broitzman of Milwaukee.

Legislative races: The 17th Senate District race to succeed retiring Sen. Dale Schultz (R–Richland Center) includes Rep. Howard Marklein (R–Spring Green) and Democrat Pat Bomhack of Spring Green. Bomhack defeated Ernie Wittwer of Hillpoint following a recount of the primary results Aug. 12.

Marklein’s successor in the 51st Assembly District will be Republican Todd Novak, the mayor of Dodgeville, Democrat Richard Cates Jr. of the Town of Wyoming, or Libertarian Adam Laufenberg of rural Highland.

In the 49th Assembly District, Rep. Travis Tranel (R–Cuba City) is opposed by Democrat Chad Henneman of Boscobel.
Countywide races: Lafayette County Deputy Sheriff Reg Gill is unopposed on the ballot, though Democrat Ralph Brown is reportedly running as a write-in. Gill defeated Darlington Police Chief Jason King in the GOP primary Aug. 12.

Lafayette County Republican Clerk of Court Catherine McGowan and Democratic Coroner Linda Gebhardt are unopposed on the ballot.

Grant County incumbent Republican Sheriff Nate Dreckman, Clerk of Court Tina McDonald, and Sheriff Nate Dreckman are unopposed. Dreckman beat sheriff’s Sgt. Ed Breitsprecker in the primary Aug. 12.

Iowa County incumbent Republican Sheriff Steve Michek, Clerk of Court Lia Gust and Coroner Wendell Hamlin

Congressional races: In the Third Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Ron Kind (D–La Crosse) is opposed by Republican Tony Kurtz of Prairie du Chien and write-in candidate Ken Van Doren of Mauston, who finished third in the GOP primary.

In the Second Congressional District, including Lafayette and Iowa counties, U.S. Rep. Mark Pocan (D–Madison) is opposed by Republican Peter Theron of Madison.

Referenda: The statewide ballot includes a constitutional amendment referendum on whether the transportation fund should be segregated to prevent funds being used for other purposes. The transportation fund consists primarily of state gas taxes and vehicle registration fees.

Iowa County voters will decide the fate of a referendum question on whether the county should continue to operate Bloomfield Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center.