By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
UWs Erickson on Biletnikoff Award watch list
Former Darlington standout among nation's top 48 wide receivers
Former Darlington standout Alex Erickson has been named to the preseason Biletnikoff Award watch list as one of Division 1 college football's top 48 wide receivers.

     MADISON – Wisconsin senior Alex Erickson is among 48 of the nation’s top wide receivers who were named to the 2015 Biletnikoff Award preseason watch list, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation announced Wednesday.

     The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the most outstanding receiver in college football. Erickson is just the second Badger to appear on the list joining former UW star Lee Evans, who was honored in 2001.

     Erickson, who is one of four Big Ten Conference receivers highlighted on the list, was the leading receiver for Wisconsin in 2014 with 772 yards on a team-high 55 catches.

     The former walk-on grew into his role as the Badgers’ primary receiver by catching three touchdown passes and logging three 100-yard receiving games. He compiled five receptions for a career-high 160 yards, including a career-long 70-yard catch, during the Badgers’ victory over Minnesota where they claimed the Big Ten West Division title.

     The Darlington, Wisconsin, native has 64 catches for 899 yards and three touchdowns in his career.

     The Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented on Dec. 10 on The Home Depot College Football Awards show that will be broadcast live on ESPN. College Football Hall of Famer and Heisman Trophy winner Desmond Howard will present the award on the show.

     The TQC Foundation will announce the 10 Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on Nov. 16, following the vote by the 275 members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. The three finalists will be announced following another vote on Nov. 24.

     Erickson joins five other Badgers receiving preseason recognition on watch lists for national awards. Outside linebacker Vince Biegel and safety Michael Caputo are both up for the Bednarik and Nagurski Awards recognizing the top defensive player in college football, while Biegel is also up for the Lombardi Award for top lineman/linebacker and Caputo for the Thorpe Award for top defensive back.

     Running back Corey Clement is in the running for the Maxwell Award as college football’s Player of the Year, kicker Rafael Gaglianone is up for the Groza Award honoring the nation’s top placekicker, and center Dan Voltz is on both the preseason season lists for the Outland Trophy honoring the top interior lineman and the Rimington Award honoring the most outstanding center in college football.