By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Birds use balance to sink Vikings
Darl BBB McArthur Miehe def
DARLINGTON DEFENDERS Kent Miehe (left) and Zach McArthur (#12, right) box in Pecatonicas Josh Hendrickson (#32) during action in Fridays non-conference boys basketball game at PHS. Miehe and Mitchell Whalen (#2) each scored 10 points to lead the Redbirds to a 61-51 victory over the Vikings.

    BLANCHARDVILLE – Four Darlington players scored in double figures and the Redbirds used a huge advantage at the free throw line to sink the Pecatonica Vikings, 61-53, in a non-conference boys’ basketball game at PHS on Friday, Dec. 30.
    Senior guard Brandon Hardyman led the way for the Redbirds (6-4 overall) with 18 points, while senior guards Cedric Flesher and Mitchell Whalen and senior forward Kent Miehe each added 10 points on the night to lead their team to victory.
    Darlington used a 12-7 scoring run in the second quarter to open up a 29-22 halftime advantage; and then employed some clutch shooting at the foul line and from beyond the 3-point arc in the second half to hold off several charges by the Vikings (1-6), who got as close as four on a couple occasions in the final two frames before being turned away by the ‘Birds.
    Senior forward Jake Martin, who came off the bench for nine points, hit a pair of key 3-pointers in the second half to help the ‘Birds earn a 7-5 advantage from beyond the arc, while Darlington went 14-for-21 at the free throw line compared to a 2-for-3 effort at the stripe by the Vikings.
    Pec’s Karson Feller led all scorers with 22 points. Tanner Kleppe chipped in with nine points, while Josh Hendrickson and Drew Schliem added eight apiece for the hosts.
    Darlington heads to Hazel Green on Friday, Jan. 6, to face Southwestern in a key SWAL game, starting at 7:30 p.m.
Darlington…. 17  12  19  13 - 61
Pecatonica… 15    7  18  13 - 53
Leading Scorers: Brandon Hardyman 18, Cedric Flesher 10, Mitchell Whalen 10, Kent Miehe 10, Jake Martin 9, Griffin Heinberg 3, Zach McArthur 1.