By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hennessey notches 100th win on way to 220-pound title
Short-handed Panthers finish fifth at Sparta with just seven wrestlers
Highland junior Drew Hennessey went 40 Saturday and needed just 60 total seconds of mat time to win the 220-pound title at the 16-team Sparta Invitational. He also picked up his 100th career win with a semifinal win.

SPARTA — Junior Drew Hennessey became Iowa–Grant/Highland’s newest member of the 100-win club with a 17-second pin of Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal’s Tanner Zchemitz in the semifinal round of Saturday’s Sparta Invitational.

He went on to pin Holmen’s Jack Westcott in just 32 seconds to win the 220-pound title with a perfect 4–0 day, that required just 60 seconds of mat time!

Hennessey (33–2 on the season) is now 101–24 in his three-year career. He joins senior teammates Max Maylor (162–23 in his career) and Brady Peat (142–33) as members of the 100-win club.

“It is pretty rare to see a junior get 100 wins, especially one at a heavy weight class,” said Iowa–Grant/Highland head coach Ryan Allen. “ Drew is a special kid with a ton of talent topped with lots of hard work. He is the most explosive big guy I have ever worked with. If he keeps up his hard work and drive to win he will be unstoppable.”

Maylor and Peat also had good tournaments on Saturday to lead the shorthanded Panthers to a fifth-place finish at the 16-team event.

Maylor (33–1) went 4–0 to win the 160-pound title. He used a bye, a pin, a tech fall and a 6–1 decision over Blair–Taylor’s Logan Shramek in the finals.

Peat (31–3) went 3–1 and finished second at 182. He defeated previously unbeaten Stephen Buchanan of Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal 11–7 in the semifinals, but suffered a 7–2 loss to Holmen’s Isaac Lahr in the finals.

Alec Zimmer (18–11) finished fourth at 113 pounds, Noah Pennekamp (21–12) took seventh at 132 and Jason Sedbrook (15–17) placed eighth at 138 for the Panthers, who had just seven healthy wrestlers in the lineup at Sparta, but still managed to score 110 points.

Holmen won the team title with 269 points. Host Sparta (176.5) finished second.

“I thought fifth place with seven guys wrestling wasn’t bad,” said Allen. “I would like to see our younger guys step it up a little more but they are young and learning every day.”

The Panthers dominated Cuba City/Benton/Southwestern 54–18 last Friday night to improve to 10–4 overall and 4–1 SWAL duals.

NEXT:  I–G/Highland will travel to Riverdale Friday night for the final SWAL dual of the season. The Panthers will then gear up for the SWC/SWAL Clash conference tournament that will be held Feb. 3 at Mineral Point.


Iowa–Grant/Highland 54,

Cuba City/Benton/SW 18

(from Friday, Jan. 19 @ Cuba City)

152: Tyler Reuter (CCBS) over Owen Murphy (IGH) (Fall 4:34). 160: Clayton Kite (IGH) over Brad Goffinet (CCBS) (Fall 1:20). 170: Gerardo Garcia (CCBS) over Keegan Pilling (IGH) (TB-1 5-4). 182: Max Maylor (IGH) over Abe Meier (CCBS) (Fall 0:39), 195: Brady Peat (IGH) over Bryce Gregory (CCBS) (Fall 0:29). 220: Drew Hennessey (IGH) over Jake Neis (CCBS) (Fall 0:26). 285: Francisco Garcia (CCBS) won by forfeit. 106: Lucas Blackbourn (CCBS) over Marcus Hanson (IGH) (Dec 6-4). 113: Alec Zimmer (IGH) won by forfeit. 120: Double Forfeit. 126: Andrew Winders (IGH) won by forfeit. 132: Noah Pennekamp (IGH) over Wylie Niles (CCBS) (Fall 2:58). 138: Jason Sedbrook (IGH) over Colin Blackbourn (CCBS) (Fall 0:54). 145: Matthew Winders (IGH) over Martin Shelliam (CCBS) (Fall 1:23).


Sparta Invitational

(from Saturday, Jan. 20 @ Sparta)

Team scores — 1.Holmen 269, 2.Sparta 176.5, 3.Marshfield 159, 4.Neillsville/GreenwoodLoyal 129, 5.Iowa–Grant/Highland 110, 6.Mauston 102, 7.Reedsburg 101, 8.West Salem 88, 9.DeForest 84.5, 10.Eau Claire North 71.5, 11.Princeton 65.5, 12.Blair–Taylor 62.5, 13.Adams–Friendship 52, 14.Boscobel 48.5, 15.Black River Falls 30.5, 16.Westfield 5.

Iowa–Grant/Highland individual results

113 — Alec Zimmer (18-11) placed 4th and scored 15.00 team points.

Champ. Round 1 - Alec Zimmer (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 18-11 received a bye () (Bye)

Quarterfinal - Alec Zimmer (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 18-11 won by fall over Carter Bratina (Blair-Taylor) 7-17 (Fall 0:28)

Semifinal - Kody Klonecki (Holmen) 23-11 won by fall over Alec Zimmer (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 18-11 (Fall 1:59)

3rd Place Match - Vince Polhamus (Sparta) 23-14 won by major decision over Alec Zimmer (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 18-11 (MD 10-0)

132 — Noah Pennekamp (21-12) placed 7th and scored 8.50 team points.

Champ. Round 1 - Noah Pennekamp (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 21-12 won by fall over Spencer Wirthlin (Marshfield) 10-10 (Fall 0:44)

Quarterfinal - Dalton Schams (West Salem) 24-3 won by fall over Noah Pennekamp (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 21-12 (Fall 4:40)

Cons. Round 2 - Noah Pennekamp (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 21-12 won by tech fall over Cole Pehrson (Eau Claire North) 1-2 (TF-1.5 3:13 (19-2))

Cons. Semi - Trevor Plomedahl (Holmen) 24-7 won by decision over Noah Pennekamp (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 21-12 (Dec 4-0)

7th Place Match - Noah Pennekamp (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 21-12 won by decision over Nathan Buchanan (Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal) 15-8 (Dec 10-8)

138 — Jason Sedbrook (15-17) placed 8th and scored 7.00 team points.

Champ. Round 1 - Jason Sedbrook (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 15-17 won by fall over Garrett Schinker (Reedsburg) 10-5 (Fall 1:55)

Quarterfinal - Aaron Bahr (West Salem) 29-4 won by fall over Jason Sedbrook (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 15-17 (Fall 0:51)

Cons. Round 2 - Jason Sedbrook (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 15-17 won by major decision over Angelo Willey (Reedsburg) 5-12 (MD 12-1)

Cons. Semi - Kyle Erickson (Sparta) 24-8 won by major decision over Jason Sedbrook (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 15-17 (MD 17-6)

7th Place Match - Mason Malm (Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal) 7-5 won by decision over Jason Sedbrook (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 15-17 (Dec 10-9)

160 — Max Maylor (33-1) placed 1st and scored 27.50 team points.

Champ. Round 1 - Max Maylor (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 33-1 received a bye () (Bye)

Quarterfinal - Max Maylor (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 33-1 won by fall over Noah O Brien (Black River Falls) 13-13 (Fall 1:11)

Semifinal - Max Maylor (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 33-1 won by tech fall over Logan Shramek (Blair-Taylor) 19-12 (TF-1.5 3:08 (19-4))

1st Place Match - Max Maylor (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 33-1 won by decision over Hayden Krein (Sparta) 35-4 (Dec 6-1)

170 — Keegan Pilling (9-19) place is unknown and scored 0.00 team points.

Champ. Round 1 - Alex Peart (DeForest) 15-13 won by fall over Keegan Pilling (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 9-19 (Fall 4:32)

Cons. Round 1 - Keegan Pilling (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 9-19 received a bye () (Bye)

Cons. Round 2 - Brady Fry (Reedsburg) 28-10 won by decision over Keegan Pilling (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 9-19 (Dec 7-0)

182 — Brady Peat (31-3) placed 2nd and scored 22.00 team points.

Champ. Round 1 - Brady Peat (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 31-3 received a bye () (Bye)

Quarterfinal - Brady Peat (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 31-3 won by fall over Kelten Pfaff (Sparta) 16-19 (Fall 1:02)

Semifinal - Brady Peat (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 31-3 won by decision over Stephen Buchanan (Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal) 27-1 (Dec 11-7)

1st Place Match - Isaac Lahr (Holmen) 29-3 won by decision over Brady Peat (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 31-3 (Dec 7-2)

220 — Drew Hennessey (33-2) placed 1st and scored 30.00 team points.

Champ. Round 1 - Drew Hennessey (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 33-2 received a bye () (Bye)

Quarterfinal - Drew Hennessey (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 33-2 won by fall over Jake Quackenbush (Adams-Friendship) 2-14 (Fall 0:11)

Semifinal - Drew Hennessey (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 33-2 won by fall over Tanner Zschernitz (Neillsville/Greenwood/Loyal) 19-8 (Fall 0:17)

1st Place Match - Drew Hennessey (Iowa-Grant/Highland) 33-2 won by fall over Jack Westcott (Holmen) 31-5 (Fall 0:32)