By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Five arrested on meth charges after 151 traffic stop
Placeholder Image

Five Iowans were arrested for felony drug charges after a traffic stop on U.S. 151 in the Town of Platteville Wednesday night.

The Grant County Sheriff’s Department received a report about a possible impaired driver leaving Platteville and heading south on 151 around 8:10 p.m.

A car driven by Teresa Lynn Roth, 33, Dubuque, was stopped by a Grant County sheriff’s deputy on 151 near Grant County O. A Grant County K-9 unit responded to the scene after “drug indicators were observed inside the vehicle,” according to the sheriff’s department.

After the K-9 dog Diego alerted for drugs, a deputies’ search revealed methamphetamine, parts of a portable meth lab, ingredients in making methamphetamine, marijuana and drug paraphernalia, according to the sheriff’s department news release.

According to the sheriff’s department, all of the meth lab ingredients had been purchased from Platteville-area businesses just before the traffic stop.

Roth was arrested and charged with first-offense drunk driving, possession of drug paraphernalia and possessing materials for manufacturing methamphetamine.

Troy A. Laufenberg, 20, Dubuque, was charged with possession of drug paraphernalia–methamphetamine-related, possession of methamphetamine, manufacturing methamphetamine, and possessing materials for manufacturing methamphetamine, all felonies. Laufenberg also was arrested on an Iowa warrant for possession of dangerous drugs.

Charged with possessing materials for manufacturing methamphetamine are Keith R. Ellis, 29, Farley, Iowa; Courtney L. O’Neill, 23, Dubuque; and Jenny M. Pike, 21, Dubuque. O’Neill also is being held on a City of Platteville warrant for retail theft.

The methamphetamine-materials charge has a maximum penalty of six years in prison and a $10,000 fine. The meth-possession charge has a maximum penalty of 3½ years in prison and a $10,000 fine.

Preliminary hearings for all five are scheduled for Monday at 8:30 a.m.