By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hynek elected new Hillsboro school board president
It reorganizes after spring election
Placeholder Image

The Hillsboro Board of Education had several major decisions at its reorganization meeting on Monday night, including the election of a new President due to the resignation of Mark Gustafson.

Jenny Hynek was elected to the position in a vote by her peers on the Board.

The balloting for other offices resulted in the following positions: Vice President Bob Stekel, Clerk Jan Levy, and

Treasurer Carl Baller.

The verification of the results of the recent School District election for Board Members was announced as Jan Levy, 508 votes and Jenny Hynek 503 votes, returning both incumbents to the Board for another term.

The Board than appointed members to the following committees: Negotiations and Personnel, Buildings and Grounds, Policy, Budget, and Insurance.

The same time, day, and place for official monthly meetings, 7 p.m., second Monday of the month, high school library, were all approved for another year.

Farmers State Bank was again approved as the Official Depository Institution and the Hillsboro Sentry-Enterprise was again chosen as the Official Newspaper.

Jenni Schrock was selected as the delegate to the Wisconsin Association of School Boards Convention, with Denise Huntley as the alternate.

In his monthly report, High School Principal Greg Zimmerman congratulated  students who participated in the State Solo and Ensemble contest at UW-LaCrosse on May 4.

Students who earned a first place are Marissa Beaver, Chamaine Hofmeister, Stephanie Munson, Brody Fanshaw, Macey Brown, Sierra Hanke, Abi Munson, Maddy Tengblad, Kelsey Thorell, eighth grader Zgenya Mizin, and the HHS Show Choir.

Students who earned a second place are Chamaine Hofmeister, Savannah Noth, Mitchell Parker, Haili Yoakum-Kehoe, Sarah Fick, Maddy Tengblad, Sarah Fick, Sierra Hanke, Ashley Stockwell, Alexis Mathis, Men’s Barbershop Quartet, Treble Barbershop Quartet, Vocal Jazz Ensemble.

Kelsey Thorell won a Third Place Award.

Zimmerman also announced some upcoming events at the High School:

• Spring Play, “Harvey,” May 17-18 at 7 p.m.

• Junior High Fine Arts Night May 20

• High School Fine Arts Night May 21

• Class of 2013 Trip to Dells and Devils Lake State Park May 22

•  Class of 2013 Commencement Program May 24 at 7:30 p.m.

• Summer School begins June 17 and runs through July 2.

Elementary School Principal Cara Wood announced:

• The fourth grade Heritage Fair winners, Andrea Auel  and Megan Salisbury, traveled to Warrens last week.

• Royal Bank representatives will be in school next week presenting financial literacy lessons.

She also announced a large list of upcoming student activities and field trips that includes:

• May 17: Fourth grade bike trip

• May 18: Safety Patrol trip to Wisconsin Dells

• May 24: Kindergarten visits Rafel Horse Farm

• May 29: Fifth grade visits Wisconsin Dells, and 4K visits Mitchell Farms

• May 31: Elementary School Field Day

• June 3: Second grade visits Wisconsin Dells

• June 4: First grade visits Circus World Museum and third grade walks to City Hall.

Superintendent Curt Bisarek reported that he had attended Education Effectiveness Pilot Training on Apr, 30 and May 1.

He also announced that 67 charter donors had attended a special Excellence in Education Donor Dinner. So far, $70,000 has been raised. All donors are much appreciated.

An unannounced school lock-down drill was held recently with police in attendance and they were very pleased with the result. The new door buzzer system will be installed by May 20.

In other business:

• The Board heard a detailed report on the Facility Improvement Project.

• Basketball coaching legend Ron Benish was hired to lead the Lady Tigers next season.

• The resignation of Alyssa Bandsma as the Football Cheer Advisor was accepted.

• Dawn Folland was hired as a Title One Reading Teacher. She holds a masters' degree and has 17 years of experience.

• Authorization for membership in the WIAA was approved at a cost of $650.

• Established the last day of the current teachers contract as June 10, 2013.

The next regular School Board meeting will be June 10.