By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
2018 Spring Election in Lafayette County
Placeholder Image

LAFAYETE COUNTY – There are sure to be some new faces on the Lafayette County Board of Supervisors come April 3.
With last week’s deadline having passed for filing nomination papers, five supervisory districts have contested races, where there will be three new faces on the board after two filed non-candidacy papers and a vacant seat will be filled.
Ted Wiegel, District 13, and John Perkins, District 16, have filed non-candidacy papers for this year’s election. District 9’s seat was vacant after the retirement of Wayne Wilson in October.
Here is the breakdown of who’s running in the districts.
Lafayette County Board of Supervisors
District 1 – Larry Ludlum (i), Mike Paulson; District 2 – Steve Spensley (i); District 3 – Jack Sauer (i), Nick Metz; District 4 – Leon Wolfe (i), Jeremiah Kleiber; District 5 – Dwayne Larson (i), Andrew Shilling; District 6 – Tony Ruesga (i); District 7 – Bob Boyle (i); District 8 – Kriss Marion (i); District 9 – Robert Laeser; District 10 – Jack Wiegel (i); District 11 – John Bartels (i); District 12 – Gerald Heimann (i); District 13 – Ursula Fecht; District 14 – Carol Korn (i); District 15 – David Hammer (i); District 16 – Rita Buchholz, John “Cal” Robbins.
The county board, however, isn’t the only local governing body facing change. There will be new faces elsewhere as well. There will be a primary held Tuesday, Feb. 20 in Shullsburg and Belmont for the Shullsburg City Council and the Belmont School Board.
Darlington City Council
Incumbent David Breunig, mayor, Cynthia Corely, first aldermanic district, Steve Pickett, second aldermanic district, and John Sonsalla, third aldermanic district, are running unopposed.
Shullsburg City Council
There’s a race for mayor in Shullsburg as incumbent Gloria Swenson faces opposition from city Aldermen Duane Wedige and Emmet Reilly.
 On the city council side, in Ward Two, Patrick Heim will be running unopposed as Cory Ritterbush is not running again. Incumbent Jim Paquette will be running against Tom Curran in Wards One and Three.
Belmont School Board
One seat is open with incumbent Laura Bahr facing off against Karie Johnston, Dana Weittenhiller, Tammie Hodgson and Shannon Burgess.
Black Hawk School Board
There are three open seats on the board. Incumbents Kerry Holland and Jason Figi will be running for re-election, with Alicia Sigafus vying for that third seat.
Darlington School Board
Four seats are open on the Darlington School Board with five people running. Incumbents Bob Hermanson, Joe Riechers, R.J. Brunkow and Aaron Wolfe will be running against Colleen Reichling.
Shullsburg School Board
Incumbents Lee Gill, Eugene Uheling and Dan Morrissey will be running unopposed.
Benton School Board
Incumbents Angela Davis and Mark Coffey will be running for Benton School Board’s two open seats unopposed.
Belmont Village Board
All incumbents are re-running for their seat:  Jeff Spensley, Keith Henry, and Steve Kenyon for Belmont Village Board.
Benton Village Board
Jessica Polfer has filed for non-candidacy for her village board trustee position as she anticipates moving. Incumbents Terry Sheffer and Chuck Wartner will be joined by Stacy Addie (Mowry) and Katey Neis on the ballot for three open seats.
Statewide races
The race to replace state Supreme Court Justice Michael Gableman will require a primary election Feb. 20 to reduce the candidates from three — Sauk County Circuit Judge Michael Screnock, Milwaukee County Circuit Judge Rebecca Dallet, and Middleton attorney Tim Burns — to two for the April 3 election.
State District IV Court of Appeals Judge Joanne Kloppenburg of Madison is unopposed.