By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Shea faces Ludlum in Lafayette County District 1
Larry Ludlum
Larry Ludlum

Although all 16 Lafayette County Board supervisor positions are up for election this year, not much change is anticipated in the board’s roster after the April 1 election.

All of the current county supervisors will be running for re-election this year, except for District 8 Sup. Ron Niemann, who represents Blanchardville, the Town of Blanchard and Town of Argyle District 1.

Niemann, who has served a total of six years on the county board (not all consecutively), has decided not to renew his term this year.

He said his main reasoning for that as having elderly parents with some issues who live out of state. “I’ve missed two meetings this year related to that, and it just won’t work out long term,” he said.

Niemann feels the board is in good shape as he takes his leave of it, especially compared to where it was when he first got on the board.

Zeke Garthwaite will be running unopposed for the District 8 position in the April l election to replace Niemann.

All but one supervisor will be running unopposed for their districts: District 2 (Town of Belmont Ward 2 and Village of Belmont): Bill Moody, District 3 (Kendall, Seymour and Town of Darlington Ward 1): Jack S. Sauer, District 4 (Town of Darlington Ward 2, Lamont, City of Darlington Ward 3): Leon Wolfe, District 5 (Willow Springs and Fayette): Dwayne N. Larson, District 6 (City of Darlington Ward 4 and 5): Connie Hull, District 7 (City of Darlington wards 1, 2, 6 and 7): Bob Boyle, District 9 (Village of Argyle and Town of Argyle Ward 2): Wayne L. Wilson, District 10 (Wiota): Jack Wiegel, District 11 (Wayne and Village of South Wayne): John Bartels, District 12 (Town and Village of Gratiot): Gerald Heimann, District 13 (towns of Monticello, White Oak Springs and Shullsburg and City of Shullsburg Ward 1): Ted Wiegel, District 14 (City of Shullsburg Ward 2 and 3): Carol Korn, District 15 (Town of New Diggings, Town of Benton Ward 1, City of Cuba City): David W. Hammer, District 16 (Town of Benton Ward 2, villages of Benton and Hazel Green): David Halloran.
District 1, including Elk Grove and the Town of Belmont Ward 1, will have the only contested race, with Larry Ludlum challenging incumbent Patrick Shea.

Both Ludlum and Shea were sent questionnaires featuring a number of questions, however only Ludlum returned the questionnaire. Ludlum is a retired farmer.

Family background: Wife: Sharon, three married sons: Todd (Kathy) Ludlum, Mark (Andrea) Ludlum and Jason (Tina) Ludlum. We also have 10 grandchildren.

What previous political experience have you had? Or any positions held? Four years as the Town of Belmont treasurer, 15 years on the Belmont School Board with 12 years as president and 14 years on the CESA Board.

What qualifications do you have for the position sought and what do you feel you have to offer? I feel I can better serve the taxpayer in District No. 1. Board experience.

Why are you running for county board? Same as above.

What are the most important issues facing the county right now? Quality programs within budget limits.

Additional comments/ideas: I am also a member of the Belmont Lions Club, Lafayette Farm Bureau and St. Philomena Church.

Current supervisor Patrick Shea decided against returning a filled out questionnaire or photo.