By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sheriffs to be chosen in GOP primaries Tuesday
Democratic primary in 17th Senate; Republican primary in 51st Assembly
Placeholder Image

Voters in the Aug. 12 primary election will have a choice to make:
•    Vote Republican, and get to choose the winner of the Grant and Lafayette county sheriff’s races, the Third Congressional District GOP primary in Grant County, and the 51st Assembly District GOP winner in Lafayette and Iowa counties.
•    Vote Democratic, and help decide the 17th Senate District Democratic winner, plus choose a candidate for governor, lieutenant governor and attorney general.

Polls will be open statewide from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The only countywide races on the Aug. 12 ballot in Grant and Lafayette counties are for sheriff, with the winner unopposed on the Nov. 4 ballot.

In Grant County, Sheriff Nate Dreckman, who was appointed in 2012, faces sheriff’s Sgt. Ed Breitsprecker, the Grant County Jail administrator. Dreckman and Breitsprecker held a candidate forum in the Platteville Municipal Building Monday night. Video from the forum can be viewed at later this week.

In Lafayette County, Deputy Sheriff Reg Gill faces Darlington police chief Jason King for the nomination to replace retiring Sheriff Scott Pedley.

Democratic voters in Grant, Lafayette and Iowa counties can vote in the 17th Senate District primary to choose the Democratic candidate to succeed retiring Sen. Dale Schultz (R–Richland Center). The primary will feature Ernie Wittwer of Hillpoint, making his first run for office, against Pat Bomhack of Dodgeville.

Bomhack lost the 51st Assembly District Democratic primary in 2012, and initially was going to run for the 51st, but announced earlier this year he was switching to the 17th race.

The winner will face Rep. Howard Marklein (R–Spring Green) Nov. 4.

Marklein is leaving his 51st Assembly District seat to run for Schultz’s seat. Four Republicans — Dodgeville Mayor Todd Novak, Town of Spring Green chairman Dennis Polivka, American Legion Department of Wisconsin Commander Ken “Rhino” Rynes of Richland Center, and Tyler Schultz of Monroe — are running for the Republican nomination. The winner will face Democrat Richard Cates Jr. of Spring Green Nov. 4.

Three Republicans — Tony Kurtz of Prairie du Chien, Karen Mueller of Chippewa Falls, and Ken Van Doren of Mauston — are running for the Third Congressional District, with the winner facing U.S. Rep. Ron Kind (D–La Crosse) Nov. 4.

The Democratic race for governor features Mary Burke of Madison, state Rep. Brett Hulsey (D–Madison), and Marcia Mercedes Perkins of Milwaukee. Republican Gov. Scott Walker faces an announced write-in candidate, Steve Evans of Montreal.

The Nov. 4 gubernatorial ballot will also feature Libertarian Robert Burke of Hudson and Dennis Fehr of Chippewa Falls on the Peoples Party ballot. Burke will be on the ballot with lieutenant governor candidate Joseph Brost of New Richmond. The GOP winner will be on the ballot with Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch.

The Democratic race for lieutenant governor will feature state Sen. John Lehman (D–Racine) and Mary Jo Walters of Madison.

The Democratic race for attorney general to succeeding retiring Republican J.B. Van Hollen includes Jefferson County District Attorney Susan Rapp, Dane County DA Ismael Ozanne, and state Rep. Jon Richards (D–Milwaukee). The winner will face Republican Waukesha County DA Brad Schimel and Libertarian Thomas Nelson Sr. of Madison.

The race for state treasurer to succeed retiring Republican Kurt Schuller includes two Democrats, Dave Leeper of Madison and David Sartori of Cudahy, and two Republicans, Matt Adamczyk of Wauwatosa and Randall Melchert of Menomonee Falls. The winners will face Green Party candidate Ron Hardy of Oshkosh, Libertarian Jerry Shidell of Rhinelander, and Constitution Party candidate Andrew Zuehlke of Ripon.

The Republican race for secretary of state features state Rep. Garey Bies (R–Green Bay) and Julian Bradley of La Crosse. The winner will face incumbent Democrat Douglas La Follette, Libertarian Andy Craig of Milwaukee, and Constitution Party candidate Jerry Broitzman of Milwaukee.

Three Republicans — Tony Kurtz of Prairie du Chien, Karen Mueller of Chippewa Falls, and Ken Van Doren of Mauston — are running for the Third Congressional District, with the winner facing U.S. Rep. Ron Kind (D–La Crosse).