By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
North Crawford Community Education Foundation awards scholarships
cropped2017 NCEF scholarship awards
NORTH CRAWFORD Community Education Foundation board chair, Chuck Bolstad, presented scholarships to 6 North Crawford students at the recent Scholarship Night for Seniors. Scholarship recipients shown in the front row (Left to right) are: Scholarship Recipients Jordan Finnell, Matilyn Barr, Maggie Schellhorn, Tyler Martin, Mary Jo Co-dy, and Christian Collins. North Crawford Communi-ty Education Foundation Advisory Board Members shown in the back row (left to right) are: Chuck Bol-stad, Ann Everson, Vickie Stephenson, Rick Busch, Dan Everson, Joe Friar, Margaret Davidson, Harry Heisz and Karen Bolstad.

GAYS MILLS - North Crawford Community Education Foundation Board Chairperson Chuck Bolstad presented scholarships to six North Crawford students at the recent Scholarship Night for Seniors.

“I know that the North Crawford community has a long history of supporting the efforts of graduating seniors from North Crawford High School,” Bolstad noted in his introductory remarks. “This evening is a celebration of that history. I know that many individuals and families have worked for years to be able to grant scholarships. I am proud to be here this evening representing a new organization, the North Crawford Community Endowment Foundation.”

Bolstad continued by recognizing the efforts of both Tarasa Lown, who had worked as director of resource development for North Crawford, and guidance counselor Stephanie Colsch. Both were instrumental in unifying the efforts of the community of donors into one organization. He also noted that the school district and school board have been supportive of the new organization. Bolstad explained that the goal is to build and grow an endowment fund, using only the annual earnings to fund scholarships for North Crawford graduating seniors, thus providing support not just now, but forever. He concluded by thanking the many businesses, families and individuals who have been the initial donors to the Foundation.

Legacy scholarships honoring the memory of Merlin and Ona Dregne and Carmen Armbruster were presented to:

Mary Jo Cody was the recipient of the Dregne Scholarship. Merlin and Ona Dregne were long time area farmers who were very active in their church and community. Their family established a scholarship that emphasized the value of growing up and learning to work on a family farm.

Matilyn Barr received the Armbruster Scholarship. Carmen Armbruster was the wife of John Armbruster a successful and memorable social studies teacher at North Crawford. Carmen lost a decade-long battle with cancer in December of 2012. Her family and friends made gifts for a scholarship to recognize Carmen’s achievements in art and design.

Additional scholarships, made possible through donations to the North Crawford Community Education Foundation, were presented to Maggie Schellhorn, Chris Collins, Jordan Finnell and Tyler Martin.

“This scholarship is very unique and a very neat idea,” Maggie Schellhorn wrote in commenting on her scholarship award. “I truly appreciate your help in making college more affordable for me. It is nice knowing you have faith in me to be successful in the future.”

While the Foundation has been established to support the school and its students, it should be noted that it is separate from the school, school administration and the school board. The advisory board operates independently of the school district and is a component of the Community Foundation of Southern Wisconsin, a 501(c)(3) charitable organization.

The North Crawford Community Education Foundation accepts gifts from individuals, organizations, businesses and families. There are brochures available at the school district office. There is also information available online at Donations are being received online at and by mail at NCCEF, 47050 County Rd X, Soldiers Grove WI 54655. Please direct questions and requests for additional information to CFSW donor services rep Barb Daus (, 608-778-3344), to Charles Bolstad ( or to Rick Busch (