By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Grant County Spring election preliminary results
Glen Haven passes firehouse vote, one vote separates Lancaster Council race
Placeholder Image

In one of the more spirited spring elections in years, the ballots across Grant County had a number of open or contested races for local governing bodies. Here are a sample of some of them.

Grant County Board
    There were three contested races for the 17 seats on the Grant County Board, and another where a new
    In District 2, which covers parts of Castle Rock, Clifton, Fennimore, Hickory Grove, Watterstown, and Wingville townships, as well as parts of the villages ofLivingston and Montfort, Gary Northouse edged Dennis Lundell, 246 to 232.
    Meanwhile in District 6, which covers Beetown, Cassville, S. Lancaster, and Waterloo townships, as well as the Village of Cassville, John Patcle retained his chair against Jennifer Jackson, 216, to 172.
    District 10, covering portions of the town and City of Platteville, incumbent Mark Stead won over Joyce Bos, 327 to 275.
    Another new board member will be Porter Wagner, who was elected to the District 17 seat, taking the place of Dan Timmerman, who didn’t choose to run for reelection.

Glen Haven Firehouse
    Voters in Glen Haven Township went to the polls to decide whether or not to authorize borrowing up to $600,000 to build a new firehouse. Of the 187 votes cast, 107 were in favor of the proposal, while 80 were against.

City of Lancaster
    There were two separate races
    Angie Gruetzmacher and and Rose Oliveto have been selected to fill the two At-Large seats on the council. Gruetzmacher received 310 votes, while Oliveto received 260 votes. Oliveto finished one vote higher than Stuart Harper, who had 259 votes. Terry Kane received 101 votes.
    Kane also ran in the District 1 race, against Brett Rollins. Rollins received 72 votes, to Kane’s 34.

Village of Cassville
    Chantel Hampton will be joining the Cassville Village Board, joining incumbents Dan Cooper and Nick Hauk. Hampton received 105 votes, while Cooper received 121 votes, and Hauk 143 votes. Desiree Ploessl received 72 votes in the race as well.

Lancaster School Board
    Denise LaBudda will return back to Lancaster Community School Board, as she received 482 votes, compared to challenger John Harrison, who received 279 votes.
    In the Area 2 race, Bill Haskins received 707 votes, while in Area 1, Mike Steffel received 696 votes.

Statewide Races on Grant County ballot
    The biggest race of the evening was for the 10-year term on the Wisconsin Supreme Court, placing Milwaukee County Judge Rebecca Dallet against Sauk County Judge Michael Screnock. Dallet defeated Screnock, 3,808 to 3,176 in Grant County, and 544,088 to 432,179 with 97 percent of the vote statewide tabulated.
    Voters went to the polls were also asked whether or not to eliminate the State Treasurer position. In Grant County, the votes were overwhelmingly against the end of the post. There were 4,388 votes in the county against elimination, 2,233 in favor. Only three voting districts out of 50 tied or voted in favor of the elimination.

Platteville School Board

Two Platteville School Board members were reelected, and a newcomer will be joining them.

Vikki Peterson, who was selected by the School Board to finish the term of former board member Eric Ratzinger, finished first in the battle for three three-year terms, with 1,184 votes. Colleen McCabe was elected to her second term with 1,084 votes.The newcomer is Katrina Hecimovic, who finished third with 798 votes, ahead of Jeremy Johnson (701), Ryan Kowalski (626) and Brian Brown (380).
Platteville Common CouncilThe only candidates on the ballot for Platteville Common Council were elected — District 3 Ald. Barb Daus, District 4 Ald. Ken Kilian, and Cena Sharp, who was elected to the at-large seat held by retiring Ald. Tom Nall.Sharp will join at-large Ald. Robin Cline, who was selected to the Common Council to finish the term of at-large Ald. Katherine Westaby after Westaby resigned at the end of February.