By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Tranel beats Kuhle for third time in 49th
May-Grimm beats Bomhack in 51st; Findley wins D.A. primary
Placeholder Image

The field is set for the third general election of this year after the Aug. 14 primary election.

Assembly: Rep. Travis Tranel (R–Cuba City) advanced to the Nov. 6 general election by beating Dave Kuhle of Hazel Green for the third time in an Assembly Republican primary.

Tranel received 64.5 percent of the vote in his first try for reelection. Tranel lost to Rep. Phil Garthwaite (D–Dickeyville) in 2008 but defeated Garthwaite in 2010,

Tranel easily won in Grant County, 3,392–1,823, and won in Lafayette County, 87–61. Kuhle did defeat Tranel in Iowa County, 6–5, with each getting three votes in Montfort.

Tranel will face Democrat Carol Beals of Platteville Nov. 6.

Mineral Point School Board member Maureen May-Grimm won the 51st Assembly District Democratic primary over Pat Bomhack of Dodgeville with 61 percent of the vote.

May-Grimm won Iowa County 683–366 and Lafayette County 630–320.

May-Grimm will face Rep. Howard Marklein (R–Spring Green) Nov. 6.

U.S. Senate: Former Gov. Tommy Thompson won the four-way Republican U.S. Senate primary.
Though Thompson had just 34 percent of the vote, Thompson won Grant, Lafayette and Iowa counties easily. Thompson won 51 percent of the vote in Grant County, 50 percent of the vote in Lafayette County, and 49 percent of the vote in Iowa County.

Thompson will face U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin (D–Madison) in the race to succeed retiring Sen. Herb Kohl (D–Wisconsin).

House of Representatives: State Rep. Mark Pocan (D–Madison) won the four-way Democratic race to succeed Baldwin in the Second Congressional District.

Pocan received 72 percent of the vote to defeat Rep. Kelda Helen Roys (D–Madison), Matt Silverman of Madison and Dennis Hall of Cambridge.

Pocan received a majority of the vote in both Iowa and Lafayette counties.

Pocan will face Republican Chad Lee of Mount Horeb Nov. 6.

New Lafayette D.A.: Kate Findley won the Democratic nomination for Lafayette County district attorney, beating Duane Jorgenson 701–617. With no Republican candidate, Findley is likely to replace retiring District Attorney Charlotte Doherty.

Also Nov. 6: In addition to the presidential race, voters in the Third Congressional District will decide between U.S. Rep. Ron Kind (D–La Crosse) and Republican Ray Boland of Sparta.

All countywide offices in Grant, Lafayette and Iowa counties will be unopposed on the Nov. 6 ballot.