By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Champions crowned at LCS finale
Eric Beau winner of the 4-cylinder title for the third season.

    DARLINGTON – Five champions were crowned on the final night of racing at Lafayette County Speedway for the 2017 season.
    McNett Electric sponsored the Back to School and Season Championship Night on Friday, Aug. 4, with 70 racecars taking to the track and more than 100 backpacks given out to school children during the evening.
    Eric Beau defended his 4-Cylinder title for the third season in a row as he led his green and black #23 car to the season points’ championship in the division with 324 points, finishing 16 points ahead of runner-up Cameron Wahl (308). It is Beau’s fourth title in five seasons at the LCS.
    Matthew McFall (249), Jim Krupke (223) and Connor Wahl (209) rounded out of the top five finishers in the 4-Cylinder class this year.
    In the closest battle in the five divisions, Pat Quinn and the #00Q earned the Late Model title with 308 points after finishing just seven points ahead of Jason Robbins’ #21 to capture the season title. Robbins was runner-up in the class for the second year in a row, placing ahead of Jamie Pfeiffer (296), 2016 champion DJ Sweet (276) and Jim Hendricks (271).
    Kenny Kostenbader in his #33K took home the championship title in the Modified class with 328 points, out-distancing last year’s champion Thompson (285) and 2015 champion Jason Buss (255) who placed second and fourth, respectively, this season. Nick Downs pulled in third (272) for the second year in a row, while Jim Turpin (246) placed fifth.
    Bob Silaggi and the #75 car claimed the SportMods points’ title at the LCS this season with a total of 319 points. Zach Maurer was runner-up in the class with 276 points, followed by Nick Schliem (263), Trent Wyssbrod (251) and Jeff Willis (240) rounding out the top five.
    In the Sportsman Truck division, Mike Walker’s #72 took the season championship with 339 points. Roger Winkers finished second in the point standings with 308 points, which was one better than third-place finisher Derek McBee at 307. Bryce Winkers (198) and Wyatt Redfearn (191) completed the top five in the truck class.