By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Nelson lone rep on All-SWAL
Placeholder Image

It was a rebuilding season for Fennimore girls basketball team in 2017–18.

The Golden Eagles will lose four seniors in Bailey Kreul, Grace Faulkner, Shianna Schultz and Taylor Hestetune, but the future will be built around promising freshman Brynlee Nelson.

Nelson was the lone Fennimore representative on this year’s Southwest Wisconsin Activities League honorable mention all-conference team that was announced last week.

Nelson, a 5-foot-7 guard, averaged a team-high 10.5 points, 3.8 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 1.8 steals per game. She also shot 35.7 percent (95 of 266) from the field, 60.4 percent (32 of 53) from the free throw line and made a team-high 19 3-pointers on 78 attempts (25.3 percent) in her first varsity season.

Nelson and the Golden Eagles finished 4–19 overall and 1–13 in league play.

“Looking back on season, the girls are really close to breaking through,” said Everson. “We talked about trying to get to double digit wins and getting in the top four of the conference. We easily could have flipped five or six games if we were a little more consistent on the offensive side and took care of the ball a little better. With a very good summer, they can have a similar turnaround to what Boscobel did this year and compete with anyone along with getting a bunch more wins.

Darlington’s Kelly Rose was named the SWAL Coach of the Year, while Darlington junior Kaylee Meyers was named the league’s Player of the Year after leading the Redbirds (20–5, 13–1) to an outright conference title.

Other first-team selections were Darlington’s Kathleen Mathais and Kennedy Rankin, Boscobel’s Leah Wacker, Cuba City’s Elizabeth Misky, Kiera Holzemer and Parker Kopp, Iowa–Grant sophomore Olivia Liddicoat, Mineral Point’s Malorie Johnson, McKenna Reichling, Riverdale’s Macy Mau, and Southwestern freshman Abby Budden.

Nelson was joined on the honorable mention list by Mineral Point juniors Dana Schmitz and Mara Aschliman, Boscobel’s Alyssa Davis and Treena Knowles, Cuba City’s Megan Hartl and Courtney Busch, and Riverdale junior  Tatum Johnson.

2018 SWAL All-Conference Girls Basketball Team

Co-Coach of the Year: Kelly Rose, Darlington

Player of the Year: Kaylee Meyers, jr., Darlington

First team 
Leah Wacker, Boscobel, jr.
Kiera Holzemer, Cuba City, so.
Parker Kopp, Cuba City, so.
Elizabeth Misky, Cuba City, jr.
Kathleen Mathias, Darlington, jr.
Kaylee Meyers, Darlington, jr.
Kennedy Rankin, Darlington, sr.
Olivia Liddicoat, Iowa–Grant, so.
Malorie Johnson, Mineral Point, sr.
McKenna Reichling, Mineral Point, jr.
Macy Mau, Riverdale, sr.
Abby Budden, Southwestern, so.

Honorable mention — Dana Schmitz, Mineral Point, jr.; Alyssa Davis, Boscobel, sr.; Megan Hartl, Cuba City, sr.; Mara Aschliman, Mineral Point, jr.; Tatum Johnson, Riverdale, jr.; Courtney Busch, Cuba City, jr.; Treena Knowles, Boscobel, so.; Brynlee Nelson, Fennimore, fr.