By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Arrows earn accolades
Wagner/Vesperman receive SWC postseason honors
Wagner AC
Lancaster sophomore Sydney Wagner earned SWC second-team all-conference honors after averaging 8.8 points, 2.0 rebounds and 1.4 assists per game this past season.


The Lancaster Flying Arrow girls’ basketball team placed fifth in the Southwest Wisconsin Conference standings with a record of 2-8, and had two members of the team earn postseason honors at the conclusion of the 2012-13 basketball season.

Sophomore Sydney Wagner earned a spot on this year’s second-team all-conference list, while junior Jena Vesperman landed a spot on the honorable-mention squad.

On the year, Wagner scored a team-high 8.8 points per game, while also dishing out a team-high 1.4 assist per outing.

Wagner also pulled down 2.0 rebounds per game, and had 16 total steals in the 24-game schedule.

Vesperman was the team’s leading rebounder with 8.8 per game, and also led the team in steals with a total of 29. She also averaged 4.9 points and 1.2 assists per game.

As a team, coach Brett Rollins’ squad averaged 37.4 points per game, while shooting 28.1% from the field, including 27.6% from 3-point land.

The Arrows also shot 59.6% from the charity stripe, committed an average of 16.7 turnovers per game, and came away with 5.6 steals per contest.

This year’s SWC Player of the Year was Julia Lawinger of Platteville (8-2), while her coach, Wayne Jentz, was named the SWC Coach of the Year.


SWC Girls Basketball
All-Conference Selections
Coach of the Year

Wayne Jentz        Platteville
Player of the Year
Julia Lawinger    Platteville    Sr.
First Team
Julia Lawinger    Platteville    Sr.
Taylor Stanek    Dodgeville    So
McKenzie Banasik    PdC    Jr.
Leigh Drury    Richland Ctr.    Jr.
Elisa Bilderback    Platteville    Sr.
Second Team
Emily Schauf    Richland Ctr.    Sr.
Samantha Crowley    Dodgeville    So.
Olivia Skemp    PdC    Jr.
Stephanie Philipps    Platteville    Sr.
Sydney Wagner    Lancaster    So.
Honorable Mention
Megan Zoet    Dodgeville    Jr.
Jena Vesperman    Lancaster    Jr.
Cassie Hamer    Platteville    So.
Lindsey Ariss    PdC    Sr.
Mckenzie Wilson    Richland Ctr.    Sr.
Morgan Johnson    River Valley    Sr.