By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Jones scholarships awarded
Placeholder Image

The Thomas B. Jones and Grace Stevenson Jones Charitable Foundation has awarded $71,500 in scholarships for the 2013–14 academic year.

Recipients are undergraduate students living in Grant, Lafayette and Iowa counties who are enrolled or accepted in a four-year college as approved by the trustee, the National Bank & Trust Co. of Sycamore, Ill. Three of the scholarships are awarded to students attending UW–Platteville.

The scholarship recipients by hometown and attending college:

Platteville: Kalyn Kamps, Clarke University; Raelene Olson, UW–Stout.

Belmont: Emma Eastlick, UW–La Crosse.

Cuba City: Emma Droeszler, Edgewood College; Emily Hilby, UW–La Crosse; Austin Kilburg, UW–La Crosse; Theodore Tranel, St. Cloud State University.

The Joneses had lived in Platteville from 1939 until Thomas’ death in 1974 and Grace’s death in 1995.

Application materials are available at or from a high school guidance counselor’s office. The deadline for application is March 1 of the year of consideration.