By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Four get Optimist scholarships
Optimist Essay Winners - 2016
Pictured are (from left) Noon Optimist Club President Christine Storlie, Mary Jane Stephens, Callin Udelhofen, Grace Deis, Daniel Swenson, Breakfast Optimist Club President Ron Weier and Optimist SWIS District Gov. Howard Crofoot.

Platteville Middle School eighth-grade students Daniel Swenson and Grade Deis were the winners of the annual Optimist Club essay contest.

Two other PMS eighth-grade students, Callin Udelhofen and Mary Jane Stephens, were runners-up in the contest.  This year’s theme was “Lead by Example: Reality or Fiction.”

The Platteville Optimist Clubs awarded Swenson and Deis a $100 scholarship, while Udelhofen and Stephens each received a $50 scholarship. Swenson’s and Deis’ essays will be sent to the next level to be judged along with winners from other Optimist Clubs in the district to compete for a $2,500 college scholarship. 

“All four students did a wonderful job articulating this year’s theme,” said Optimist Breakfast Club President Ron Weier.  “They expressed themselves well through their writing and deserved the honor of winning the scholarships

“We had a great response to the contest this year,” said Optimist Noon Club President Christine Storlie, the contest chair, “There were 19 entries, and most of them were of a very high quality, which made judging them a difficult task.” 

The Breakfast Club, established in 1968, meets at Country Kitchen each Friday at 7 a.m. The Noon Club, organized in 2009, meets at Fiesta Cancun for lunch on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month. Both clubs are dedicated to programs that support area kids.