By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 6
President, U.S. Senate, Congressional, Assembly races on ballot
congressional map
Areas in yellow are in the Third Congressional District, while areas in green are in the Second Congressional District.

The third and final general election of this year will be held Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Polls will be open statewide from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

At the top of the ballot will be the presidential race between Democratic incumbent Barack Obama and Republican Mitt Romney. Other presidential candidates include Virgil Goode of the Constitution Party, Gary Johnson of the Libertarian Party, Gloria La Riva of the Party for Socialism and Liberation, Jerry White of the Socialist Equality Party, and Jill Stein of the Green Party.

Former Gov. Tommy Thompson, a Republican, and U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin (D–Madison) are facing off for the U.S. Senate seat held by retiring Sen. Herb Kohl (D–Wisconsin). Thompson won the four-way Republican primary Aug. 14.

There are two Congressional races in the area. Grant County voters will decide the Third Congressional District race between U.S. Rep. Ron Kind (D–La Crosse) and Republican Ray Boland of Sparta. Lafayette and Iowa county voters will vote in the Second Congressional District race to succeed Baldwin, with state Rep. Mark Pocan (D–Madison) against Republican Chad Lee of Mount Horeb. Pocan defeated state Rep. Kelda Helen-Roys (D–Madison) in the Aug. 14 Democratic primary.

The area also has two state Assembly races. Voters in Grant County and the Lafayette County Town of Benton will vote in the 49th Assembly District race between Rep. Travis Tranel (R–Cuba City) and Democrat Carol Beals of Platteville.

Tranel defeated Dave Kuhle of Hazel Green in the Aug. 14 Republican primary.

Voters in the rest of Lafayette County and in Iowa County will vote in the 51st Assembly District race between Rep. Howard Marklein (R–Spring Green) and Democrat Maureen May-Grimm of Mineral Point. May-Grimm defeated Pat Bomback of Dodgeville in the Aug. 14 Democratic primary.

All countywide offices in Grant, Lafayette and Iowa counties will be unopposed on the Nov. 6 ballot. That includes Lafayette County district attorney, after Kate Findley won the Democratic nomination over Duane Jorgenson Aug. 14.

Election results will be available on the Platteville Journal’s Facebook page and on on election night. Election results by precinct will be available in The Platteville Journal Nov. 14.

The boundaries of Grant and Lafayette counties’ Congressional and Assembly districts changed slightly after redistricting by the state Legislature in 2011 after the 2010 U.S. Census. Grant County (top map in yellow) is in the Third Congressional District, while Iowa and Lafayette counties are in the Second Congressional District. Grant County and the Town of Benton (right map in pink) are in the 49th Assembly District, while the rest of Lafayette and Iowa counties are in the 51st Assembly District.
State of Wisconsin maps