By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Candidates set for fall
Tranel will have primary opponent; one of two Dems to face Marklein
Placeholder Image

Now that the gubernatorial recall election is over, candidates have filed for the Aug. 14 and Nov. 6 elections.

In the 49th Assembly District, first-term Rep. Travis Tranel (R–Cuba City) will have a primary opponent, Dave Kuhle of Hazel Green. The winner will face Democrat Carol Beals of Platteville.

In the 51st Assembly District, two Democrats, Maureen May-Grimm of Mineral Point and Pat Bomback of Dodgeville, will face off for the right to face first-term Rep. Howard Marklein (R–Spring Green) Nov. 6.

The Aug. 14 Republican primary will decide the candidate that will face U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin (D–Madison) for the U.S. Senate seat held by retiring Sen. Herb Kohl (D–Wisconsin) — Eric Hovde of Madison, former U.S. Rep. Mark Neumann of Nashotah, former Gov. Tommy Thompson or Assembly Speaker Jeff Fitzgerald (R–Horicon).

Four Democrats are facing off Aug. 14 for Baldwin’s Second Congressional District seat — Rep. Kelda Helen Roys (D–Madison), Matt Silverman of Madison, Dennis Hall of Cambridge and Rep. Mark Pocan (D–Madison). The winner will face Republican Chad Lee of Mount Horeb.

In the Third Congressional District, U.S. Rep. Ron Kind (D–La Crosse) faces Republican Ray Boland of Sparta Nov. 6.

Two Darlington Democrats will face off Aug. 14 for Lafayette County District Attorney to replace the retiring Charlotte Doherty, Kate Findley and Duane Jorgenson. The winner will be unopposed Nov. 6.

Grant County District Attorney Lisa Riniker, a Republican, and Iowa County District Attorney Larry Nelson, a Democrat, are unopposed.

Grant County Clerk Linda Gebhard, Treasurer Louise Ketterer and Register of Deeds Marilyn Pierce, all Republicans, are unopposed. Lafayette County Clerk Linda Bawden, Treasurer Rebecca Taylor and Register of Deeds Joseph Boll, all Republicans, are unopposed.

In Iowa County, Republican Treasurer Jolene Millard and Democratic County Clerk Greg Klusendorf, Register of Deeds Dixie Edge, and Surveyor Bruce Bowden all are unopposed for reelection. Klusendorf and Edge registered as Democrats after previously registering as Republicans.