By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Election: Dalecki, Becker lose; IowaGrant vote wins
Placeholder Image

For the first time in many years, two Platteville Common Council incumbents lost reelection bids in the April 2 general election.

District 1 Ald. Mike Dalecki, the Common Council president, lost to Barb Stockhausen 334–131.

At-large Ald. Steve Becker finished second to Michael Denn, 768–487. Write-in candidate Zan Shields received 12 votes.

Dalecki defeated then-District 1 Ald. Patrice Steiner in 2010. Steiner then was elected to her current at-large seat unopposed in 2011. Dalecki also was on the Common Council from 1994 to 2000.

Becker was running for his third, and, he said, final term on the council. Becker was unopposed in his first two runs for the council, in 2007 and 2010.

The vote means the Common Council will have a new president, with Dalecki’s loss.

Referendum wins: The Iowa–Grant School District referendum to exceed state spending caps by $950,000 each of the next three fiscal years won with 64 percent of the vote.

The vote lost in only one precinct, Castle Rock.

Property taxes are estimated to increase $81 for a house valued at $100,000 in the 2013–14 fiscal year, with taxes decreasing after that.

Municipal races: Village of Dickeyville President Tammy Kunkel was reelected, defeating trustee Becky Kienzle 85–58. Kienzle was reelected to the Village Board, finishing third with 75 votes in the race for three seats, behind incumbent Don Schultz (105) and challenger Matthew Gantenbein (99). Amy Ginter, who was not running for reelection, finished fourth with 44 votes.

Village of Potosi President Frank Fiorenza defeated challenger John Mest for the second time, 112–36. Fiorenza defeated Mest in 2011.

Potosi Village Board incumbents Tom Droessler, Arlyn Webber and Joyce Weber were reelected with 140, 103 and 131 votes, respectively. Former trustee Karen Pitzen finished fourth with 42 votes.

Village of Tennyson President Keith Jantzen defeated challenger Henry Stohlmeyer, 76–32. Village Board incumbent Joe O'Connell was reelected with 82 votes, and challenger Karla Tobinleiser was elected to the seat of retiring trustee Cyril Menne, with 76 votes. Steven Stohlmeyer finished third with 36 votes.

In the Town of Kendall, Micah Bahr defeated Gary Tibbits 101–83 to win the town chair race. Don Christensen and Jackie Steffes won the board seats with 108 and 103 votes, respectively, defeating Joe Flogel (73 votes) and Theresa McCarthy (71).

In the Town of Platteville, Rich Lange and Don Smith won the two board seats, with 130 and 116 votes, respectively. The father–son duo of Bob Digman and Chad Digman finished third and fourth with 80 and 57 votes, respectively.

Incumbent Town of Smelser Sup. Rob Droessler was reelected with 129 votes. He will be joined on the town board by challenger Ken Runde, who received 120 votes. Mark Hirsch (63) and Richard Klaas (42) finished second and third, respectively.

Incumbents Michelle Olson (68 votes) and Keith Schaefer (58) won reelection to the Town of Harrison Board, with challenger Matthew Clark (37) finishing third.

In Ellenboro, incumbent Jim Broihahn was reelected to the town board, with 54 votes. The second board spot appeared to be a tie until a recount gave Judy Henry a 45–44 win over incumbent Merle Martin.

School boards: The Iowa–Grant School Board had as many seats as candidates on the ballot.

In the only contested race on the ballot, Renee Linscheid defeated Shawn Meuer 681–194 to replace the retiring Kris Meuer in Area 2, Cobb.

Write-in candidate Chris Richards won the Area 1 seat, Linden, with 203 votes. Five other write-ins got a total of 17 votes.

The two other candidates — Darla Burton in Area 3, Montfort, and Fred DiVall in Area 6, Livingston and Montfort at large, were unopposed on the ballot.

Belmont School Board incumbent Shawn Dailey was reelected with 299 votes. The other board position went to write-in Sheila Simpson, with 30 votes, one more than write-in Laura Bahr.

Potosi School Board incumbents Craig Bierman and Peggy Udelhoven were reelected, while Tricia Reuter won a seat. Bierman received 301 votes, Udelhoven 288, and Reuter 287. Stephen Pluemer, who dropped out of the race but still remained on the ballot, got 195 votes.

David Timmerman, Dena Harris and Tallitha Reese contributed to this story.